but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

are we there yet?
Thursday, Nov. 07, 2002

Now Playing - happy birthday, Joni.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Since I didn't get this for some reason, and it happens to be a good one, here's last week's Friday Five.

1. Were you raised in a particular religious faith? I was raised Jewish, not particularly observantly. I went to Sunday school as a kid, and attended Jewish-run summer camps. I was not made a Bat Mitzvah. And technically, since I was adopted and my birth mother was a non-Jew, I am not truly Jewish, as I was never officially converted. It would be a pretty simple procedure, involving immersion in a mikveh (ritual bath) and probably some prayers, but it's not something that's really a priority in my life right now.

2. Do you still practice that faith? Why or why not? I do not actively worship. I don�t belong to a synagogue. I also married out of the faith (to a non-observant Catholic), so it�s not something my husband and I could take part in together. But I greatly appreciate the Jewish emphasis on the family, and on trying to live a good and ethical life.

3. What do you think happens after death? I'm really not sure what to think. I'd like to think the soul has an energy that is reborn, or takes up another form in some way. In terms of there being a heaven or hell, I'd like to think that there is peace in the afterworld for those who have tried to live decent lives and some sort of retribution toward those who have not.

4. What is your favorite religious ritual (participating in or just observing)? The lighting of shabbos candles, and the menorah. I find those small rituals comforting.

5. Do you believe people are basically good? I would like to think so. We need every candle in this darkness that we can get.


Boy, I'm tired. We have no hot water at home from 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. today (nice scheduling, Super-man) so I had to shower last night. At 2:30. Which I could rationalize by allowing myself to sleep 'til 7:55. But I'm loguey. Needed that shower to wake me up. And some breakfast might have been a good idea, too. I only had enough milk for my breakfast drink, and I didn't want to steal all of Huz's for my cereal, so what have I had to eat so far? A Halloween lollipop and two pretzel rods.

Breakfast of Champions.

I keep feeling/wishing it was Friday. I haven't had to go for jury duty so far, and I'm anticipating I won't be called. I'm #1313 (Mockingbird Lane?) and they're only up to 975-ish. Which is good, since I have to proctor an exam tomorrow (for extra money!) and don't want to leave anyone in the lurch (second monster sitcom reference in this paragraph! That must be some kind of record!) I still feel not entirely healthy � the Evil Phlegm Monster will not leave, and my throat is feeling almost sore. I can crash Saturday and Sunday, so that�ll be a help.

I need a nap.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com