but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

doves & hors d'oeuvres & jury duty, oh my
Thursday, Nov. 07, 2002

Now Playing - hummmmmmm de computaire
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I have displeased the Civic Duty gods in speaking of how I thought I might get out of jury duty, and have been well and truly chastened. Tomorrow, I get to do battle with rush hour traffic in order to show up in Mineola by 8:30 a.m. Then I will sit reading catalogs and organizing my Filofax along with approximately 450 other people (they were only calling 250 per day all week) until I'm judged fit or un- to stand in judgement of my fellow man.

Came home and crashed on the couch, and awoke to someone's horn beeping very loudly and methodically in our parking lot. We had an errant car alarm problem a few weeks ago. If this puppy wakes me up at 4 a.m. there'll be hell to pay. Especially if my head's pounding then like it is now. I also have a left contact lens with an attitude problem, which means either my astigmatism has changed drastically, there's a minute tear in the lens that for the life of me I cannot see, or I have a brain tumor. WHAT? I wasn't raised by Jews for nothing! Don't make me go all Oedipus on yo' ass!

Someone stop me! stop me! before I go to Trader Joe's again. I've had hors d'oeuvres for dinner for the past three days.

I ordered this neat Gershwin litho online, and it arrived yesterday. Good quality, and deserving of a nice frame. Which should be perfect for the dining room wall! We who are about to decorate salute you.

I'm concerned about our doves. Or dove, to be specific. I think one may have gone missing. The other night, I slept on the couch because I had one of those itchy, restless, too stuffy can't-turn-off-my-brain nights that make me feel guilty for tossing and turning and generally being impossible to sleep near. One dove was making noises that sounded like the dove equivalent of a small child in the throes of a bad dream. It was making me anxious just listening. So I've noticed there's only been one dove on the air conditioner for a few days now. Did someone fly south and not leave a note? Or meet with an unfortunate accident? I hope not. Do they mate for life?


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com