but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

can't even blame the sudafed
Monday, Jan. 26, 2004

Now Playing - nuttin'.
Now Eating - LA's Triple Echinacea tea with Origins' Cold War honey elixir.
Now Feeling - scratchy and sniffly.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Yet another belated Friday Five.

At this moment, what is your favorite...
1. ...song?
�Step Into My Office, Baby� by Belle & Sebastian. Too. Damn. Catchy. And nearly ubiquitous on �my� station these days.
2. ...food? Hmm�what have I been craving? Legal Sea Food�s Jalapeno Cheddar Polenta.
3. ...tv show? The West Wing. More the reruns than the current season, but when Bartlet�s just been re-re-elected, it warms the cockles of this scared little Democrat�s heart.
4. ...scent? A tie between Egyptian Musk and Dolce & Gabbana Pour Femme, which I wore while we were courtin�, and Huz got me for Christmas.
5. ...quote? A lyric I particularly like��All the other girls here are stars, you are the Northern Lights.� From �Kathleen� by Josh Ritter, off his Hello, Starling release.


Do you think the Salvation Army would accept a donation of a garter belt, a bustier and a white lace teddy?

I have paper cuts a-go-go all over my hands, and have torn so many nails while filing that I just went and lopped the rest of �em off. Now I have the hands of a five year-old. (The rest of her is stuffed in the closet�bwahahahaha!) Occupational hazard, I guess.

I went on a field trip to the Barbeque Shack in The Woods for lunch Friday. Boss was occupado all afternoon, so the deal was �I�ll order and pay, you fetch.� Can�t argue with that. The Shack in The Woods now has an enclosed patio for your dining pleasure. A lovely thought for more temperate weather, but not much help when it�s twenty-odd degrees. There was a tortoiseshell kitty that kept rubbing up against me, probably more for warmth than friendliness. Heck, I�d do that if I were she.

We�re expecting some more �weather� tomorrow evening, and I have a sneaking suspicion we�re in for a snow day Wednesday. I�m hoping the storm starts late enough to not postpone the groinecologist appointment I have after work, but early enough so I can beg off shlepping to rehearsal afterwards. They wouldn�t have me trek all that way if the roads are bad anyway, so it�s not much of a stretch to say I�ll be home cocooning tomorrow night.

Which is all good, because I�ve caught a bit of Huz�s latest cold. Scratchy throat, nasal drip, sneezing, stuffy nose...I�m a low-key Nyquil commercial. And I do NOT intend to be sick on vacation, so this thing had better be on its way, and soon. Ahhh, vacation. In just NINE DAYS! See if I were quool like GolfWidow I could put one of those little �countdown to vacation� counters down at the bottom of this page. And if I were an amoral sumbitch, I would just steal the code from her site and warp it to fit my own twisted needs. But I�m not. So I�ll merely bow to her superior coding skills, and look on in awe and wonder.

And I haven�t had any cold medication, I swear.

Yipes. Huz just came home bearing provisions for the snow day, which he picked up out of the goodness of his heart after finishing his gig tonight and dropping off his drums. He didn�t get me Hostess cupcakes (which he always remembers with a V-8 smack to the head when I remind him), but he did bring home two CPK frozen pizzas � BBQ Chicken and new Jamaican Jerk Chicken. We will not wind up like the Donners. And here I am with a bunch of recently arrived beauty products strewn across the kitchen table. Spending his money while he slaves over a hot set of drums and a cold shopping cart.

A girl�s gotta look pretty for her man, no?


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com