but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

soup is good food
Monday, Oct. 14, 2002

Now Playing - "Satellites" - Rickie Lee Jones
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Well, The Partner in Crime is out with the flu, and my boss is on a recruiting trip to Fla. all week, so it'll be a long slow day of diary updating, folks!

We took my mother-in-law to the cemetery yesterday to visit my father-in-law on what I believe would have been their 45th anniversary. And took her out for a nice dinner afterward. Her short-term memory is...not good. She asked us three times whether we'd left one of the cats out when we left. She repeats the same stories over and over. And she's still losing words. It took her five minutes of "You know the place where you go for that thing...in other words when you...in other words..." to try and explain jury duty. She doesn't know what she likes to eat anymore. Huz ordered for her when she basically threw up her hands and said, "Oh, you decide!" The waitress kind of looked at him funny. But how can you explain? We watched the episode of SVU we taped Friday, with Jane Powell as the elderly lady with dementia. At one point she got very agitated, and Huz remarked that Uncle Pete had said that was how Huz's grandmother would sometimes act, fighting him and accusing him of things. All I could do was think to myself, "Yes, honey. This is what it's like. And it'll get worse." We deal with her forgetting things and getting flustered, but that'll be nothing compared to wandering away, paranoia and possible violence. My voice teacher's father once tried to strangle her mother because she wouldn't let him take the dog out in the middle of the night. Anything can happen. It is a drag getting old.

So the cheesy revue thing went well and is done. Yes, Mel can be bought for the low low price of twenty bucks, a pencil and a fridge magnet. How sad is that?

I then trotted out to Port Jeff in the rain to meet up with some folks from Fair Liberty's Call and catch the second act of Pimpernel. We went out afterwards, I went out after that and got home around 5 a.m. Woke up at 11:30 with a headache I still haven't managed to shake. Huz thinks he's sick, and I just wish I'd stayed home to self-medicate and try and make him feel better. Soup. I could be making soup right now.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com