but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

sassy white girl
Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2002

Now Playing - "Crossing Over with John Edwards"
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


We have a pair of doves who have taken to nesting atop the air conditioner on our balcony. They coo in the early evening, and in the morning as I sit and read the paper before getting into the shower. It's very soothing, and I'd like to think it's a good omen. I'm a firm believer in signs and signals that way. I hope they remember to come back in the spring.

It was a semi-productive day yesterday; I didn't totally accomplish some of the major things I had to do, but managed some smaller ones that made people's lives easier. Tomorrow I'll finish off the big stuff.

So Marci emailed me to ask if I could sub for another little revue thingy Saturday night. Which means I'm going to have to miss Asavari's husband's 40th birthday party out in the wilds of Jersey, because the money's too good to pass up. And I'm going to miss Glenn & Suzi's show at The Cutting Room, because the last rehearsal is Friday night. And it's a ton of stuff to learn.

Geeze. "Coffee in a Cardboard Cup," which I know slightly, but now know better after listening to it half a dozen times on the way to work. Just singin' about caffeine can get one all hepped up! "Cell Block Tango," which I know. A jazz waltz arrangement of "Fascinatin' Rhythm," which will be a minor bitch. "Find Out What They Like, and How They Like It," a Fats Waller tune. See Mel attempt to be a sassy colored girl. I'm sorry, but that's Ikeya's territory, not mine. "You have to grit your voice, Mel." "Not above an A...." "Sure you can." Um, no. I know my voice and what it can do. Walk a mile in my cords, and then we'll talk!

Just one more boring week.... Sleepy time.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com