but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

soul, man
Monday, Mar. 22, 2004

Now Playing - in my head, Nellie McKay - "Change The World."
Now Eating - Thai Chicken Lean Cuisine. I'm so addicted.
Now Feeling - like the two-day headache's finally easing up.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Show's ovah, people! We had only two performances this weekend, and I kept getting the feeling that we should have closed last week. We did have a really good closing night audience, though. You haven't lived 'til you've heard people clapping along to "Heigh-Ho" as you march out onstage, your head stuck through a foam-core cutout of a dwarf. Or perhaps you have.

In the dressing room Saturday night, I kept to myself, performing my ablutions quietly, trying to block out the other girls' chatter. One was going on about her latest boy problems - he was telling her she was oversensitive, overreacting to something he'd done. Basically negating her feelings. The other girls were advising her to get rid of him (and I was echoing that sentiment in my head), but she was countering by saying she wasn't sure if this was a pattern, maybe it was just a misunderstanding, blah blah blah. Finally one girl said something along the lines of fine, don't take our advice, but when he does it again don't come crying. To quote Alan Jay Lerner, I'm Glad I'm Not Young Anymore (gender switch optional).

Then we segued into men and love in general, and the concept of "soulmates." And the theory was that your soulmate is someone who is completely sympatico with you; it may be a friend, it may be a lover, it may be someone you never wind up with, but it's someone who changes your life. And the person you marry is the person you choose to grow with, and build a life with. Interesting.

I don't know whether I consider Huz my "soulmate." Certainly I love him more than anything, and have chosen to make my life with him. But there are enough innate differences between us, enough lapses in communication (however small) that make our relationship take its share of work. The work is entirely worth it, mind you.

But there have been people in my life, friends and lovers both, with whom I�ve felt that special connection. Finish each other�s sentences; complete each other�s thoughts. Luckily enough, many of these people are still in my life today. I cherish that.

So what do you think? Have you found your soulmate? Is he/she still in your life now? Scroll down to the comments section and leave word. I�m interested to hear what you think.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com