but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

sloganize me!
Saturday, Mar. 20, 2004

Now Playing - sports, on the bathroom radio.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - awake.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Five, only a day late.

If you...
1. ...owned a restaurant, what kind of food would you serve?
A mix of healthy nouvelle fusion/California Italianate/comfort food. In other words, weird ingredients (but not too weird), reinterpretations of classic dishes, and healthy versions of stuff Mom gave you when you were home sick from school.
2. ...owned a small store, what kind of merchandise would you sell? Tchotchkes by local artists, funky vintage clothing, old record albums, and chic (but not cher) antique home accessories.
3. ...wrote a book, what genre would it be? Women�s fiction.
4. ...ran a school, what would you teach? Oh, it would definitely be a school of the arts, and I�d employ all my talented friends.
5. ...recorded an album, what kind of music would be on it? A mix of doo-wop, folk and showtunes.


Snow delay of only an hour yesterday. Several of us at David's house the night before were hoping for a snow day; alas, �twas not to be. We were there for the dress rehearsal of this, and believe-you-me I�m very bitter that they got a much better book than we did last year (although I did get a birthday gift for Dad out of it � he�ll love the book). I did get to wear my kickass snow boots all day. They severely limit ankle flexibility however, giving me an oddly Frankensteinian gait.

So in honor of the wearin� of the boots, and in bass-ackwards hommage to this entry of GolfWidow�s, which was inspired by this article, I humbly present. . .

The Six Weirdest Things My Parents Tried to Teach Me

  1. Don�t wear your snow boots in the house. You�ll get a headache.

  2. Don�t go out with a wet head. You�ll catch cold. (I�ll stop on the day I read in the New York Times obits, �She died from going out with a wet head.�)

  3. Don�t step over your brother. He�ll stop growing.

  4. If you do step over your brother, you must immediately step back over in the other direction to ensure his continued growth. (My brother is only about 5�5�. They may have been right on this one.)

  5. No one in our family drives in the left lane.

And finally. . .

  1. Don�t pinch your brother. You�ll give him cancer.

I�m sure I�ve told some of you more of the corkers that come out of my folks� mouths, but this was all I remember off the top of my head. Referesh my memory, and I�ll revise and give you full credit!

A link to this (via Harriet), produced these, which as Harriet points out, could be fodder for future banner ads.

The Best Melwadel A Man Can Get. I�m reminded of their jingle � �For the best care a pet can get.� Woof.
The Future�s Bright. The Future�s Melwadel. Future�s so bright, I gotta wear. . . me?
A Melwadel Is Forever. Well, natch!
The Queen of Melwadel. A bit redundant, but sure.
Is It Live, Or Is It Melwadel? ::cue obscenely loud high note::
Nobody Does It Like Melwadel Butofcourse.
A Glass And A Half In Every Melwadel. I�m. . . calcium-rich?
Every Bubble�s Passed Its Melwadel. I have no idea what this means.

It�s closing night, folks. We�re having a cast party, I�m making a crabmeat dip. All is well.

Off to exercise, and shop!


Edited to say that I am now at 51.19 miles run-walked for the year, and have earned myself a Ten percent there rubber duck. !


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com