but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

snow day!
Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002

Now Playing - the Huz watching "Subway Q & A" on Metro Channel.
Now Eating - are you kidding? It's snowing!
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


We closed at 2:00 today.

SNOW DAY!!!! YIPPEE!!!!!

*Ahem* I'm fine now, thanks.

Coming as I did from my prior place of business, where only an act of G-d or a bomb threat would make them close the place, this is a mechaieh. Your Yiddish Word for the DayTM, there. Means "a pleasure." (Not to mention this lovely lady, as well.)

Of course, it took an hour and five minutes to drive the ten miles home, but I arrived in one piece. Always a good thing.

At my former job, they would always stay open as long as possible in bad weather so as not to "piss off the members." And yet, we'd get calls from people who were incredulous that we were still open. But open or closed, they were never satisfied. "You're off on Thanksgiving? Good, enjoy your day." "I can't believe you're not open on Thanksgiving!!!" G-d forbid we should spend a day with our families at the expense of your workout. I'd actually say to people, "Well, you can come here and jog around the building if you like...." And I never got the day after Thanksgiving off like real folks do. That was very nice this year and last.

We would close for the major Jewish holidays every year. And every year, people would bitch. "Ooh, can I get money back on my membership for all the days you're closed?" And for several years, owing to the vagaries of the Jewish calendar, they fell on weekends. So we got screwed there. If you're thinking, "What does she mean 'screwed'? Nobody says you entitled to have certain days off," my point is this: we never got a lot of the regular holidays that real folk get either. Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Christmas.... Christmas was a major sticking point, as we had many non-Jewish staff members. And Jews who were married to non-Jews. Many. It was always a scramble to find coverage. And, truth of the matter, there were many members who were non-Jews as well. You would think a little across-the-board courtesy could be extended. It wasn't like we were putting up a creche next to the gigantic menorah on the front lawn.

And, because it was such a pain in the ass to find coverage, I'd feel guilty for taking sick days and vacations. Leslie would open and work 6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., my shift was 9 to 5, and someone would work 5 to closing. So if I wasn't there, it was a trial to get someone to cover those few short hours. Same thing with Leslie, when she'd take vacation. That presented a problem for me as well, because the supervisor who would open would usually hightail it out of there as soon as I showed up, leaving me alone for the morning crush. Hell, just finding someone to sit while I went to the bathroom was tough! And that just shouldn't be.

Whew, scary how I just ranted off there. Suffice to say that, other than missing Leslie (desperately) and many of the cool folks there, I am so glad I left. No more constant phone calls. No more bitchy, nasty-as-all-get-out members. No more having to do six million things at once. No more irresponsible kids without work ethics. No more "Executive Staff" who wouldn't back you if their lives depended on it.

Deep cleansing breath, Mel. In with the turquoise, out with the mustard yellow.


I need to find my gloves. And get winter boots. There was much moisture involved in clearing off my car this afternoon. I have no idea where my big ol' rubber Sporto boots are. I used them as riding boots in High Society, and don't know where they rode off to at the end of the run. And my gloves are at the bottom of some drawer somewhere. Very prepared was I today. And for the sister of a meteorologist, no less! Oh, the shame.

So Huz brought home some Italian food, and I did some dishes, and now we have the evening to veg. The snow seems to have calmed down, and everything's blanketed in white. I love this time best of all...when everyone's home and settled and the snow dampens the outside sounds and everything's hushed and peaceful. I miss the fireplace we had in the old apartment, but there's much to be said for efficient heat that we control. Better to sleep in t-shirts than under tons of blankets and still be frozen.

The next project will be to find and decorate a small, apartment-sized tree. And put up lights on our balcony! I can't wait.

Stay warm, y'all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com