but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

an entry of no importance
Thursday, Mar. 18, 2004

Now Playing - "When I Fall In Love" - les Coles, p�re et fille.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - hungry.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Yeah, I'm still here. It's been quasi-busy at work, and what with the shows and the exercising, my actual "sitting on my ass in front of the computer" time has been limited.

The Boss is away today and tomorrow, and has been running around like the proverbial headless chicken, and our file server has been down for over three days. You'd think that with the inability to do "real" work I'd manage to churn out an entry, but you'd be wrong.

The office next door has been "gifted" with a paperwhite narcissus and a hyacinth. The atmosphere is decidedly funereal 'round here. Literally.


The revue closes Saturday night, which leaves me performance free for the forseeable future except for one of these and three of these randomly scattered about.

Which isn't so bad really. I'll have time to work out after work on a regular basis, and still eke out some home cooked meals a few nights a week. Huz is starting to forget that I know how to cook, we've had so much take-out and fast food over the past few months.

And my MIL's house will hopefully be sold within the next two months (this week's discovery of termite damage notwithstanding). My SIL comes up at the end of the month, and that should be the last push in getting the house cleaned out. MIL's parish priest has expressed interest in taking a lot of stuff - the parish just bought a home in which they place immigrants new to the area until they find accommodations, and it needs furnishing.

We want to get away a bit in the upcoming months. If it times out right, when my SIL and family go on vacation we may go down there and stay at their place. We'd only have to pay for plane tickets (and food of course, because what vacation with Mel does not involve a ton of food?) and we'd get to see my MIL and spend some time lounging by the pool.

I also plan on making it to this for the first time. I have no shows to conflict, and the boys are going to Cherry Grove the following week. And throwing some day trips into the mix would be nice, too.

There you have it: What Mel Plans for her Summer Vacation.


Because I am a sucker for foofy girl stuff, easily swayed and still dealing with adolescent skin though way past my adolescence, I caved to the wisdom that is Weetabix (scroll about halfway through the entry for her testimonial) and bought The Soap . Yes, it's $34 soap. Yes, that comes to $37 with shipping. Yes, it does smell like French Hooker Grandma. But it's the only soap that can cut through the residue left on my skin by our crappy tap water. And considering that my my first bar lasted two months (and didn't turn to mush like every other soap - I mean I used this thing down to a sliver, at which time I just slapped it onto the new bar) I figure I can rationalize the expense. I mean, my Cream Bars last a good long time, but not two solid months. I think it's helping my skin, though I'm still prone to hormonal eruptions even The Soap cannot fix.

I've been working my way up over the years. First it was Clinique, by my dermatologist's recommendation. Then, on to the hippie chic of Origins. And now I've also developed an addiction to philosophy products. I've been using the basic "regimen", which a friend's mom likened to a science project with the mixing of the vitamin C powder into the moisturizer. Now I've started with this, which I found too irritating until I realised they meant it when they called it a one-minute facial. One minute's all you need. And my latest addiction's this. What a concept. Clear makeup. For a girl who's all aglow by 10 a.m., this is Nirvana.

But the best, the absolute best, has always been this. Honest to gawd, it really does smell good enough to eat. Not good to think about before lunch. ::drool::


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com