but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

woke up this morning
Monday, Nov. 27, 2006

Now Playing - Studio 60.
Now Eating - drinking, seltzer.
Now Feeling - tired.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


...at 4:37. And despite my best efforts (keeping my eyes closed as I maneuvered around the apartment, trying not to think any deep thoughts, and MOST IMPORTANTLY not humming anything catchy that might implant itself in my brain) I was up. I sat in the rocking chair, sacked out on the couch and went back to bed for an hour when Huz decided he was done sleeping, but to no avail.

I�m seeing my doctor on Friday (checkup, to see how I�m doing on the Effexor) so I�m going to mention it to him, along with some other stuff that�s bugging me. I don�t believe it�s anything related to the drug; any side effects I had at first seem to have abated. Just...other stuff. But enough of that.

Huz�s theory is that when you wake up like that, it�s just your body�s way of saying it�s slept enough. But this was maybe three hours and change of sleeping, and I know I need more than that, even if my body doesn�t. Though I will say this; I�m not exhausted. But I hope I�ll sleep well tonight.


So the New Temp was told that last Wednesday would be her last day. There�s a secretary in the Big Dean�s office � she�s been here about six months. Since her boss (the Vice Dean) doesn�t generate much work (mainly because he doesn�t do much work, butthatsanotherstory...) she�d made it known that she was, well, bored. So they figured they�d save some money and give her something to do, so they moved her in with me for the rest of the year. She started today. (The New Temp didn�t bother showing up for her final three days last week, butthatsyetanotherstory.)

I think she�s going to be very helpful. I hadn�t gotten to know her very well, but she now strikes me as very sweet. And competent. And it�s good to have someone there who doesn�t need explanations on the Inner Workings of The Little Law School. And she wants to help. Which is nice.

New Dean and she and I met to discuss exams today. I was expecting a brief discussion, but New Dean wanted to know everything about exams. So I basically walked the two of them through everything. New Dean was impressed with my organization. That�s a miracle on two counts: 1) that I managed to impress her and 2) that anyone could be impressed by my organizational skills. I�ve said this before � I�m only on time for things that matter to me. Well, I�m only supremely organized when they matter to me as well. I suppose this matters to me because handling exams alone scares the shit out of me. Hey, whatever works.

Time for Studio 60. I�m signing off.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com