but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

observations on a sick day
Monday, Oct. 21, 2002

Now Playing - "She'll Be Comin' 'Round the Mountain" - courtesy of that ice cream truck!
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Ice Cream Man is making his rounds. It's late October. It's 6:15 p.m. Twilight. It's 57 degrees. Who wants ice cream???

I'm rather achy. I have a slight fever (98.5) but I'm taking antibiotics for the sinus infection. I haven't showered since Saturday, so I feel pretty gross in that regard. All the better to wallow in my misery.

The one drawback to having lovely doves make their home on your balcony? Dove poop. 'Nuff said.

I think I'm about to buy a rather large piece of furniture online. In white.

I had to miss the reading tonight for the show The Fabulous wrote. I am very upset about that.

Huz and I have been together seven years today. Even though we (read he) decided to not mark the anniversary of this day anymore, I still insist on mentioning it. I mean, it's a big thing, seven years. But we still have a long way to go.

Listening to The Last 5 Years makes me think a lot about marriages and why they do or don't work. I used to think that I wanted to get married and have a child as early as I could. I didn't want there to be a big age gap between my child and me. Now I look at myself at 34, and cannot imagine having been married at 24. Much less having a child. I know myself so much better now. I'd like to think I'm more grounded, that I have a better grasp of the things that matter to me. I look at people who marry young, and I fear for them sometimes. If you don't have an idea of who you are at that age, of what you want to become, so much can change in the elapsing years that you can grow into someone who would not have married your partner in the first place. And vice versa. I don't know if that makes any sense -- it could be the decongestant talking, but what it boils down to is I'm glad I waited. I married at 30. I married when (as I've said before) I found someone who I knew would treat me the way I deserved to be treated. We have a very placid relationship. We fight very little. And the thing that gets me is that it's so easy. Love can be easy. There doesn't have to be all this torture and drama and angst. And I wish some of my friends could find that out for themselves. That they could stop choosing the drama. That it doesn't have to be so difficult. That's not to say that it doesn't involve hard work, that there aren't difficulties to be overcome in making a life together. But the core of what you have together and share together, what�s down deep, makes working through all that worthwhile.

"Life has taught us that love does not consist in gazing at each other but in looking outward together in the same direction." ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com