but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

twilight zone
Thursday, Oct. 03, 2002

Now Playing - in my head - "The Mountain" - Carter & Grammer (thanks, HB!)
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Excellent pairing of Twilight Zone reruns on Sci-Fi last night: "It's a Good Life" - Billy Mumy wishing folks into the cornfield (a prescient indictment of laissez-faire parenting if ever there was one - boy, was Serling brill or what?) and "Death's Head Revisited," with the SS Captain going back to Dachau. At the end, Serling gives his own version of "those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it." It got me thinking about what will happen when all the Holocaust survivors are gone. How long before revisionist history takes hold? How long before the white supremacists infiltrate our government and take away the rights of certain segments of the population? Because frankly, I believe it could happen, and it frightens me. In a delusion of grandeur brought on by too many Masterpiece Theater-esque WWII spy dramas (coupled with visions of being a real-life Clarice Starling), I've often thought that if it did happen, the thing I would do is become a spy. Seeing as I'm Jewish (via adoption) but don't look it, I figure I could "pass" well enough to insinuate myself into the movement and do as much damage as I could, if called for. This from the girl whose husband cringes inwardly whenever his wife mentions that she'd like to take shooting lessons.

I could do it. I'm sneaky. But as I've said before, I don't think fast enough on my feet. A little training by the CIA might help with that.


But on a lighter note, I might take a tap class tonight!

Yeah. Like I should even entertain thoughts of accomplishing anything during PMS week. The walk I was going to take last night never happened, natch.

*sigh*


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com