but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

running up that hill
Thursday, Feb. 06, 2003

Now Playing - entirely too much "smooth jazz."
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


We have a fairly new, young "Development Coordinator." He needed to take pictures for an event last week. Borrowed The Boss's kickass camera. Returned it to me Monday, with the back open and the film exposed.

"You may have just ruined this roll, L."
"Aww, no, really?"
"Well, let me see what I can do."

He stood there for a bit, as I futzed with the large, very expensive camera while simultaneously juggling the phone and what was going on on my computer. I mentally drew a target on his forehead.

"I'll let you know if I can save it."
"Okay," he said as he finally wandered away.

There was no saving this roll. Aside from his exposing the damn thing, I couldn't even get the camera to loose it's grip on the film (and it made really unhappy noises when I attempted to do so), so I just opened it and pulled it out.

I wrote to his predecessor, who left in August and is a very funny, really cool adult,
"Nothing like ASKING before you mess with something.
Nothing like NOT PRESSING BUTTONS IF YOU DON"T KNOW WHAT THEY DO.
Are we six years old????
Just one more step in the climb up to the height of stupidity."

She wrote back,
"I always say, 'You get what you pay for.'"


For some reason, I "dressed down" today. Jeans and a baby blue Victoria's Secret (just so's you know I don't look like a total schlep) sweatshirt. Today is Thursday. Dress down day is customarily Friday, yes. I gave this no thought this morning, as I was only concerned with what to wear to rehearsal. Can we say "priorities?"

Rehearsals are going well. I'm just busy busy busy, she says in an attempt to explain away her non-updating. But my schedule now is essentially wake, work, rehearse, sleep. We're off Friday, and have rehearsal 1-5 p.m. Saturday, and 7-10 p.m. Sunday. At least I'll get some laundry in.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com