but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

round and round and round she grows
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

Now Playing - John Hiatt - "Master of Disaster." Gotta love the master-disaster-bastard-Stratocaster rhymin'.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - hungry, natch.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


In the past two months, half a dozen people have greeted me with �Have you lost weight? You look great!�

Which, of course, begs the question, �How frickin� fat did I look before?!?�

On a whim, I got on an elliptical trainer at the gym Sunday. I was stretching at the railing in front of the ellipticals and bikes, looked around, and saw how deserted it was. �No-one will see how dorky I look,� was the thought. So I hopped on. I hadn�t been on one in about 5 or 6 years, since they were first brought into the gym where I used to work.

Hoo doggy.

Okay, I burned way more calories and logged about � mile more than in the same amount of time spent on the treadmill. I also worked muscles I�d forgotten existed, and later in the day, my back felt better than it has in aaaaaages. Weigh that against how incredibly goofy I must have looked, and the fact that I felt like a busted bronco when I got off, and my decision should be obvious.

MORE! Must embarrass myself in front of EVERYONE at the gym!

Because it�s my duty to make all those twenty-somethings with low-riding pants, crop tops and belly rings feel as good about themselves as possible.

We all have our niche to fill.


File under �When It Rains, It Pours�: Mom called last night to tell me her sister fell and broke her hip. Auntie is in Florida, has had a hip replacement, is probably high as a kite from the morphine they�re giving her, and will be coming back to New York at some point for rehab. I told Mom maybe they�ll wind up rooming together after her surgery.


The Fourth was fun. Lots of good chow, and simply stellar fireworks. Huz went 2-2 with 4 RBIs in the annual softball game. He also managed to take a rather spectacular fall while sliding into home, wrenching his shoulder in the process. I discovered the marvels of bug spray baby wipes. Now the fun part is discovering where the bugs decided to go when they couldn�t access my arms and legs. Bug hickeys, anyone?

A parting shot:

Cedar Beach at sunset


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com