but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

goodbye, ronnie
Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003

Now Playing - in my head, "River in the Rain."
Now Eating - smoked gouda.
Now Feeling - sad.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


A friend of mine died yesterday morning.

This will be brief, because I'm tired, and emotional and thinking that sleep will do me quite a bit of good.

Ronnie Peierls was a physicist, and a theatre director. One of the most intelligent men I've ever met. His father was a physicist of renown who worked on the Manhattan Project. His mother's name was Genia, and her granddaughter and namesake (who I met because Ronnie's son and daughter-in-law were members of the Y where I worked...one of those "Hmm, I know someone with that last name...." moments) was one of the bounciest babies I've ever seen. He was a gentle and kind man. He had battled a brain tumor for much of the past year, as his wife Julie had battled ALS several years before. At that time, I was persona non grata at the theater, and only during a brief conversation with Jeff did I find out she was ill. Since I hadn't seen her in a few years, and since I was weeks away from getting married, I wrote her a note to say I was thinking of her, and tell her my happy news.

She wrote back,

"I am so thrilled to hear that you are getting married. I will certainly be thinking of you Sunday, and will lift a glass to your happiness. I very much hope I'll get to meet your husband and see you again, perhaps at T.T. [the theater] sometime.

In the meantime, thank you so much for your concern and love.

Mine to you, Julie"

And then she was gone. And now he is, too.

His son, Tim (father of the bouncing baby), wrote the following -

"Dear friends and family,

Ron Peierls died this morning at about 7:15 in our house in Manhasset. His condition declined noticeably on Friday night, and there were some uncomfortable moments over the weekend, but in the final hours before his death he was comfortable and breathing peacefully. Ben [his other son], who has been here since Saturday, was in the room when Ron stopped breathing.

Ron greatly appreciated the love and encouragement that was expressed over the last nine months. He felt lucky for the extra time that he had, returning to his work at Theatre Three and to his home in Port Jefferson for several weeks, and getting to know his grandchildren better.

He left these instructions: "I have no wish for any formal memorial service, preferring to be remembered on an individual basis; however, if some form of gathering would make it easier for my surviving family to respond to expressions of condolence, they should do what seems most comfortable to them."

--tim"

Oddly enough, I had theatre tickets for last night. So I went, and saw a good friend who I don't get to see nearly enough, and had a wonderful time. I'd like to think it was my way of remembering him.

Goodbye, Ronnie. Give Julie my love.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com