but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

in which my answering machine gets proselytized
Friday, Sept. 23, 2005

Now Playing - "Mother I Climbed" - Tracy Grammer. Earwormed by harri3tspy!
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - it's Friday, and one boss is out of town. Whaddaya think?
Now Tweeting - Melanie


�Hi, I�m sorry I missed you! If you�d like to get in touch with me, you can reach me at XXX-XXXX and the times that you can reach me would be on Sunday at 12 p.m., Thursday at 7 p.m. and Monday at 7 p.m. My name is Joan, and this is for a...brief...Bible discussion. Thank you very much. Bye.�

The Jehovah�s Witnesses are cold-calling now????

Yes, I did a reverse lookup, because the number she was calling from was different from the number she left. One is a residence, and the other is the local Kingdom Hall.

Needless to say, Joan won�t be getting a callback.


I�m pleased to see that L'Or�al does not airbrush out the laugh lines of spokeswoman Andie McDowell. Of course, she�s still advertising hair dye, Mel mutters in her semi-silver-haired, holier-than-Andie glory....


Light sleeping with either Bravo or HGTV on gets you conceptualizing about shows with a very small demographic. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Battle of the Network Realtors. Which will be hosted by Suzanne HUWhaaaaang, from a remote studio halfway across the country, natch. The woman has the easiest job in the frickin� world.


Riddle me this, Batman. Can you think of a tactful way to noodge someone about the fact that she still owes me money? This was for a trip we took in July. I emailed her I think in mid-to-late August to tell her all my credit card statements were in and that I had a total on how much I�d spent. This was a lie, as I am anal about my expenses and knew a week after we came back how much the trip had cost me. I put it off because she and her husband aren�t the most solvent folk in the world, even though she works off the books and her husband has more of a guaranteed summer income than mine does. She emailed back to say her husband had just reminded her about it, and they were going to sit down and total up her receipts. Since then, nothing. I�m thinking just a quick email to ask �Have you come up with a total from the trip yet?� and leave it at that. So much more subtle than �Give me my $97, woman!�


It�s that time of year again, and I�m supporting Marn in the Jog for the Jugs in Montreal. In addition to it being a very worthy cause, I get the thrill of knowing I am helping to cause Marn to turn a shade of red not found in nature, and the thrill of contributing to a charity that does not then harass me for the rest of the year! Can�t beat those polite Canadians. (Well, I suppose you could, but it wouldn�t be very nice.)

(And, as skibigsky reminded me, the exchange rate rocks!)

I guess this makes me...a bustier!

Have a good weekend, folks.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com