but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

apr�s-d�ner, le d�luge
Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2005

Now Playing - new McCartney on 'FUV. It has potential.
Now Eating - souffl� of the morning, beautiful Panera Baked Egg Souffl�!
Now Feeling - backachy. One side finally feels better, so the other goes out!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


No, I didn�t see all that much of the Emmys Sunday night. I was busy mopping my parents� basement.

Juuuust when you think you�ve had a nice enough day�opened your latest library gig, did some shopping for and cooked dinner with Mom (even though she dissed your madd cooking skillz to your husband behind your back � whiskey-tango-foxtrot?), took care of tax stuff with Dad, did a load of laundry for them and watched a little TV, your husband comes up from the basement and says, �Uhh, did you notice the water in the basement?�

Nooo, Ididnotnoticethewaterinthebasement!

The runoff from the washer must have overloaded the pipes (back-clogged with supposedly flushable baby wipes [as we later found out they were; as Albee would say, our pipes are �slim-hipped�]) and resulted in a flood which overran the bathroom, shower stall and the area under the slop sink and washer. Let us not even discuss the state of the toilet. Cut to Huz and I on our hands and knees, scooping, swabbing and vacuuming up stanky water. Cut to Dad exclaiming. �I hate this house!� and me countering with �Then sell it and get out! Find someplace where things like this will not be your responsibility!� �Where would we go? Who would buy this piece of shit?� Lather, rinse, repeat.

Not the way I was expecting to end my Sunday.

Ah, well.


School has begun in earnest for The Huz, and gee, will it be nice to have some money rolling in again. The summers, they are lean and hard. Lessons and my library gigs will help replenish the pillaged coffers.


A friend was supposed to see the dress rehearsal of the reading Saturday night, but bailed at the last minute. Turns out a co-worker of his, who I�d met a couple of times (most recently the weekend before last) had finally left her husband. I can�t say I�m surprised. From what I�d heard from both her and my friend, she never had a nice word to say about the guy. I met him once, and he seemed like a nice enough fellow to me. Of course, you never know what goes on in a marriage, and I get the sense they married young and just grew into two different people. But the thing that bugged me most was the unrepentant trashing of him she did. In public. In front of people she didn�t even know.

Keeping-of-online-diary to the contrary, I�m not the most public of persons. Sure, I occasionally bitch about The Boy Who Moves My StuffTM, but that�s really small potatoes. We don�t fight majorly; but if we did, you all wouldn�t be the first to hear about it. And I know others feel the same way. There are some things in a relationship, in a marriage, that should stay behind closed doors. Especially when one party is not around to defend him/herself.

I don�t know if it�s just a craving to keep something private in this world of �in-your-face�-edness, or just plain good manners (the little I have of �em), but to me some things are just not done, and one is airing your dirty laundry in public. I find it very discomfiting.

Airing out your dirty basement, on the other hand? I�m there.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com