but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

movers & shakers
Monday, Sept. 26, 2005

Now Playing - something perky on 'FUV.
Now Eating - nothing yet....
Now Feeling - mezzo-mezzo.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Can I just call a do-over for today?

Oh, nothing major; just bad sleep (what there was of it), and an aching back, and sucky wiring in my bathroom that�s melting the plug to my hairdryer (Good morning, lovely acrid burning smell!), and a bad hair day and stupidass traffic.

DO-OVAH!


People, we may be making progress. Last night at dinner, my parents spontaneously began discussing improvements that need to be made to their house!

We were over on Friday, and threw out more stuff (My brother�s crib is dead � Long Live The Crib!) and reorganized the basement a bit. They were both very pleased with the result. Then Mom got a call over the weekend from my brother�s MIL, in which she vividly described all the things that are wrong with my parents� house. Hello, preaching to the choir! We KNOW what�s wrong! And it�s really not any of your business!

Ahem.

So anyway, Mom brought this up at dinner, and we confirmed what we thought needed to be done. And that it may take some time, but that it can be accomplished. And Mom said, �Well, you did a great job in the basement, but there are things upstairs that need to be taken care of.� And Dad mentioned that there are even papers that need to be filed or thrown out!

I know. I nearly fell out of my chair.

Now if we could only convince them that they are not moving here.

Baby steps, baby steps�.


In other budding relocation news, my friend Rick called yesterday to let us know that, given our occasional current apartment tsuris (see above; re: acrid burning smell), he took it upon himself to ask the super if anything in his building is opening up. And there is - a one-bedroom, available in the next couple of months.

PROS:


  • Same price as our current abode, more than likely more space.
  • A new super who probably has more energy and less of a language barrier than our current one.
  • Laundry room on every floor.
  • Storage space in the basement.
  • Bigger balcony.
  • Quiet apartments (I have heard noise from neighbors once in all the times I�ve visited David & Rick�s).
  • A more convenient commute once the campus relocation occurs.
  • Better proximity to our storage unit.
  • Dishwasher!
  • Being in same building as David & Rick.
  • Nicer building � secure entrance, elevator, communal lobby.

CONS:


  • Moving � AUUUUUUGGGGGGH!
  • Noise from traffic � the complex is right on a main road
  • Less scenic view (see above).
  • Repainting � AUUUUUUGGGGGGH!
  • Slightly farther from the gym
  • No longer walking distance to the railroad.
  • Less convenient to current campus locale.
  • No clue as to whether we�d be penalized for breaking our current lease.
  • Another security deposit to pay�.
  • This apartment, for all its flaws, is home.

It�s a tough decision.


I have a wedding to go to on Oct. 8. I�m not sure if I want to wear a suit I currently own (which may or may not fit me � time for a mini-fashion show!), or spring for something new. There are plenty of really pretty options, only one (the last, and my favorite) with sleeves of any consequence. Hello, it�s FALL, people! Why is it �all sleeveless-all the time!� all of a sudden? Granted, my wussy, girly �weight lifting� has firmed up my arms, but it�s October! That whole �weather� thing could go either way!

And besides, doesn�t anyone believe in ladylike modesty anymore?


I�m supporting Marn in the Jog for the Jugs!

I guess this makes me...a bustier!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com