but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

hold the phone
Wednesday, Feb. 08, 2006

Now Playing - The Grammys.
Now Eating - drinking, apple juice.
Now Feeling - my blood pressure's returned to normal, but I'm STILL pissed.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Scary how my hair can go from �Juuuust right.� to �Dayum, I need a haircut!� to �It�s 10 p.m.: Do you know you look just like David Cassidy?� in the span of one week. That�s it � haircut Friday, come hell or high humidity levels.


Know What I Love?
~ I love that we get to play �Geek Squad� and provide tech support for my boss�s at-this-rate-never-to-be-ex-wife whenever she needs it.
~ That I�m the only peon who knows how to take ID card pictures.
~ That I�m the only peon who gets to make banners for any other department whenever they ask, regardless of my lack of degree in the Graphic Arts, and commensurate pay.

And, from the extracurricular part of my day,
~ That people persist on speaking out of turn when all it does is make them look bad. At rehearsal last night (and after hearing this person snipe about a third party, so I shouldn�t be at all surprised), I mentioned to a castmate that we had people in common: a friend of mine Castmate had done a show with. Her immediate response? That she didn�t think much of Friend�s talent. I replied, �That�s funny, because she has nothing but lovely things to say about you.� A few well-aimed questions enabled her to suss out that Friend and I are, well, friends, and she spent the rest of the evening trying to get back in my good graces. Which ain�t gonna happen, because I now know I can�t trust her far as I could throw her. Fool me once....

I�ll say it again, people: KNOW YOUR AUDIENCE! I could have shared what I know and don�t like about the third party Castmate was initially trashing, but I chose not to. Because I don�t know most of my castmates very well, and I don�t know who they know. Yes, I�ll readily admit to my share of gossiping, but I think I�ve learned to think more before I speak. Because you never know who knows whom.

The director said the other night that during tech week he wouldn�t keep people after midnight unless it was absolutely necessary. Considering that we have rehearsal every frickin� night from Feb. 20 to our Mar 3 opening, it�d better NOT be necessary. Unfortunately, I have a feeling it will be. The non-continuity, the wasted time, the latenesses and blown off rehearsals, the schedule that says one thing but means another�so far the experience has been worth every penny of what I�m getting paid for it.

Deep cleansing breath, Mel. I can only control what I can control. And I�m responsible for my own performance. I have no plans on looking foolish up there. Everyone else is on their own.


It�s later, I�m home and I�m mad as a hornet.

We�ve used T-Mobile for almost 6 years. I know, I know, who the hell actually stays with their cell company for SIX YEARS? Believe me, I�m asking that too.

Mid-December, I log on to their website and see I can upgrade our phones for free if I extend our contract for two years. Essentially free, anyway. There�s a mail-in rebate, and shipping isn�t covered. But hey, nicer phones than we have now, for �free.�

�Free� phones arrive, and they�re all fency-shmency, but they�re in boxes-within-boxes and That�s. It . No packing slip, no receipt and nothing about the rebate. Left on our doorstep like abandoned babes. Expensive, potentially-deadly-if-used-at-a-gas-station, electronic babes.

Weeks pass, and no rebate form magically appears in our mailbox. No information is forthcoming on the T-D�ohbile website. Did I misread? Were the folks at T-Shmoebile giving us these phones hassle- and rebate-free? The charge for the phones doesn�t even show up until this month�s bill, although I placed the order two days before the December billing cycle closed.

More weeks pass (because I have a semblance of a life), and today I finally speak to Sherlene at Customer �Care.� And get shuttled to another 800 number where Christine tells me that I �need to call the customer service number, andjustamomentI�llconnectyou�� and I interrupt her to ask what that number is? And of course she reads me the Customer �Care� number. That�s who just sent me to you, I tell her, and she finally makes an attempt to ask what the problem actually is. And then asks if I�ve visited tmobilerebates.com. Of course I haven�t, because I had no way of knowing it exists! There�s nothing on the main website that indicates the existence of any other site devoted to rebate-y goodness.

So I go take a look-see. And our internet connection at work is craaaaaaawling, so I try again once I�m home, and plug in my information. And it tells me that to get a rebate, I need:


  • A REBATE FORM COMPLETED IN ITS ENTIRETY. REBATE FORM MUST INCLUDE THE 10-DIGIT T-MOBILE WIRELESS NUMBER YOU ARE REQUESTING THE REBATE ON, THE 15-DIGIT IMEI NUMBER FOR THE PRODUCT PURCHASED AND THE DATE YOU PURCHASED THE PRODUCT
  • A PHOTOCOPY OF THE DATED SALES RECEIPT AND/OR SERVICE AGREEMENT WITH ACTIVATION DATE, PRODUCT PURCHASED AND T-MOBILE RATE PLAN CIRCLED. THE RECEIPT AND/OR SERVICE AGREEMENT MUST SHOW THE ACTIVATION DATE, PRODUCT PURCHASED AND THE T-MOBILE RATE PLAN UPON WHICH THE PRODUCT WAS ACTIVATED.
  • THE ORIGINAL UPC BAR CODE FROM THE SIDE OF THE PRODUCT BOX.
.

One thing I could finagle, one thing I NEVER GOT, and one thing was on the packing boxes that I finally THREW OUT because after I had the phones for a frickin� month and they worked just fine, I had no reasonable expectation that I would ever need the packing boxes again! Because T-Asshobile never sent me anything about a rebate.

I call. And I�m shuttled from the CCRs with their interminable silences in the face ear of a woman who is pissed off be-on� belief baby, be-on� belief to their supervisors, who can �certainly understand how you feel ma�am, but unfortunately�.�

They understand. But unfortunately there�s not a gawddamn thing they can/will do. And I�m out $100 and two years of my cellular life. So to speak.

We now pause for a stream of invisible epithets directed toward the fine folks at T-Yo�MamaIsA�Hobile:

COCKSUCKER MOTHERFUCKING SHITTY ASSHOLES!!!!!!

An �Out of Area� call just popped up on Caller ID, and I was sure it was T-Fauxbile calling to apologize and tell me, �There�s been a misunderstanding; of course you can have your rebate without the UPC code!� But alas, �twas not to be.

Dammit.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com