but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

but i guess i'm already there
Tuesday, Aug. 22, 2006

Now Playing - 'FUV.
Now Eating - drinking, Dr Pepper.
Now Feeling - weary.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I stepped out of the bedroom mere moments before Huz came home last night, late because he was playing a gig. Have you ever looked at something in a different way and had it look almost foreign to you? I do that in our house a lot. I�ll come through the front door or stand at a different corner of a room and try to see it with fresh eyes, as someone coming here for the first time would. How would it look? Welcoming? Cluttered? Hazardous obstacle course waiting to snag an ankle and send you tumbling?

What I thought as I stood in the bedroom door was, �This looks like home. This is what home looks like.� It�s not ours, not really, but it�s not living in someone�s basement, and it has been home to us for these past 4� years.

I peered down the hall, through the dining and into the living room, suffused in the gentle glowing light of two small IKEA lamps and their energy-efficient compact fluorescent bulbs, and that�s what I thought.

home

This is what home looks like. This is home.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com