but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

old dog, new trick
Thursday, Aug. 09, 2007

Now Playing - "I Just Wanna Dance" (Promise I'll send you the file!)
Now Eating - grilled chicken caesar salad.
Now Feeling - headachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I had my first couple of music rehearsals for my next project last week. And for once, I didn't do that stupid thing I always seem to do with a new-to-me music director. I didn't walk in and immediately begin disclaiming my musical ability, trumpeting my ineptitude all over the place. I went in and just did the work, and it went wonderfully. Everyone seems on the same page in terms of what we want to do with the music, the music director can really conduct, and the accompanist can really play. And as someone suspected, I was pleased to find I remember the score a lot better than I thought I would. Here's to osmosis ten years after the fact. I'm excited to start working with the cast.

And that's really all I'm excited about right now. We have no Certificate of Occupancy and consequently no move-in date for the condo. In fact, the mortgage banker emailed me earlier in the week to say his appraiser had been given the runaround by the condo people, and hadn't yet been able to, y'know, appraise our place. We renewed the lease for our apartment for the month, and somebody at UnF@irfield dropped the ball, because our lease extension did not include the rider making us liable for the month after we leave. And about that? Well, I'm not complaining.

I am up to my eyeteeth in work, with a two-day tension headache that no amount of ibuprofen can kill. Incoming student orientation is this weekend, and I'm busy trying to match students with dorm rooms. The Boss comes back from vacation tomorrow, so at least I'll be able to yell at him in person and not via email. It's much more satisfying in person.

School gears up in two weeks, rehearsals begin in earnest on Monday, the summer's over and I feel as if it never had a chance to begin.

And I really have nothing else to say.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com