but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

closet optimism strikes back
Thursday, Aug. 16, 2007

Now Playing - "Somebody To Love" - Jefferson Airplane.
Now Eating - a Big Mac.
Now Feeling - excited and scared.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


At 3 p.m. yesterday, we received the demoralizing news that the C of O probably would not be issued until end of August/beginning of September. Huz and I began girding our loins toward the prospect of paying an extra month's rent and losing our security deposit and then some. When I complained to our lawyer about it, in an uncharacteristic fit of optimism he encouraged me to "Never give up hope."

An hour and fifteen minutes later, he emailed me to tell me they had everything they needed to close. We'll be closing sometime after the 21st. Let the panic and packing and poverty ensue!



The Little Law School had the fire marshals come in today to lecture us about not setting fire to the building, and, if we do, how to get out alive. They had a handy little Power Point presentation all about FI-YAH. And here's one little gem, (paraphrased, but just barely) "Fire has existed since the Age of Mythology, when Prometheus gave man the gift of fire."

WHISKEY TANGO FOXTROT???

The Age of Mythology? Which seems like it must be right up there with other ages like Enlightenment and Reason, no?

And fire came from Prometheus. I'm sure the Geico cavemen will be thrilled to hear it.

To wrap up our week of orientation at The Little Law School, students were invited to do a couple of community service projects, one of which was helping out at the headquarters of the local civic council, a building with a small petting zoo out back. When The Boss called to ask how the students were doing, and whether they'd been introduced to the sheep, the head of the civic council told him that not only had they met the sheep, but they'd bathed the sheep.

Boss asked jokingly, "With Woolite?"

I don't think I need to tell you her answer.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
5 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com