but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

no song
Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2002

Now Playing - "Amazing Grace" - Darius Rucker
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I posted this a short time ago on Songbird - A lyrical community.

I heard it this morning on WFUV, the aforementioned Greatest Radio Station in the World, and it goes on the very short list of songs about this tragedy that can actually move me.

I cried when I watched the tv special about the widows who gave birth after September 11th, and thought that that could have been The Best Man's Wife. Giving birth to twins 8 months after The Best Man could have died.

I cry when I hear about the firefighters...firefighters who lost siblings and sons, and think how that might have been Chris L., with his father searching for him.

I cry sometimes, but I cannot endlessly weep about this tragedy.

I have done that already, and I still do. Some grief does not really get easier over time, it just changes its colors and shadows into something somewhat more palatable. I weep for Miriam when I see someone that reminds me of her in a commercial, and think, "It's not right. That should be her. She should be here." I weep for Miriam when she comes to me in dreams. Dreams that tell me there is nothing I could have done. Nothing I could have done to have prevented that tragedy. I do believe the chestnut about "everything happens for a reason," but sometimes I think it takes a very long time to figure out what the reason is.

And maybe sometimes you never know.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com