but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

building a dyke
Saturday, Sept. 14, 2002

Now Playing - my windchimes
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I like looking around my home and seeing all the stuff I've put together.

-two 6' bookcases

-tv stand

-coffee table

-cd tower

-computer desk

-file cabinet

-buffet

-dining table & chairs

-baker's rack

-corner display rack

-two nightstands

-two small chests of drawers

-one large chest of drawers

-corner dressing table

-one large dresser

-shoe rack

-bathroom cubby

Not to mention the mounting of curtains and blinds, a towel rack, a shelf in living room and various objets d'art.

I own a level. It's a small, cheesy level, but a level nonetheless. I love going around the house seeing if things are level.

I've learned to spackle. And to put mollies in walls for the aforementioned living room shelf. And how to get molllies out of walls when the shelf needs to be moved because, in my eagerness to get it level, I kind of overlooked the fact that it really should be centered. (Yes, learning to spackle very quickly followed.) I just discovered the joy of metal mollies. Bestill my heart!

I love IKEA. I love HGTV. I may soon be a convert to the Trading Spaces religion.

Were it not for the whole sleeping-with-women thing, I think I would have made an excellent dyke.

The overtly sexual nature of the terminology is intriguing...mounting things, screwing things, and of course the ever-popular stud finder. How glad was I that I managed to come upon a stud finder all by myself in Home Depot. Would've been a special kind of embarassment to go up to the guys in the Tool Department asking for one.

My husband, however, is not among the handy. He takes comfort in the thought that if he leaves all those lovely flat-packed IKEA boxes around long enough, eventually they will turn into furniture without him lifting a finger.

I think I'll ask him to get me this for our anniversary.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com