but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

testing, testy, tested
Friday, May. 09, 2003

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - nothing. Damn you, Mr. Karp!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


And without any further ado, The Friday Five!

1. Would you consider yourself an organized person? Why or why not? I'm less organized than I used to be. I used to be able to call my mother from college and tell her where in my bedroom she could find something I needed. I'm less organized now because 1) my life is busier, and 2) I live with another person, so there is a much greater chance that my things will go missing courtesy of The Boy Who Moves My StuffTM!
2. Do you keep some type of planner, organizer, calendar, etc. with you, and do you use it regularly? I live by my Filofax. I've been using one probably since 1997, and I can't live without it. I keep my check register in it, phone numbers, birthdays and anniversaries, business cards, receipts, etc. It's the only way I can keep track of where I have to be when, and remember who I have to pay when!
3. Would you say that your desk is organized right now? No. My desk is a clearinghouse for crap from all over the apartment. I especially love it when I have a pile of papers perilously perched on the edge of my desk and The Boy Who Moves My StuffTM puts a stack of catalogs on top of that. Very stable.
4. Do you alphabetize CDs, books, and DVDs, or does it not matter? CDs are alphabetized loosely by artist, and that's about as far as it goes.
5. What's the hardest thing you've ever had to organize? I know what it will be...my parents' house when they move or pass away, whichever comes first. They've saved so much crap over the years it's ridiculous. A couple of years ago, they threw out a pair of perfectly good Harmon Kardon speakers (they'd bought one of those cd/tape/radio behemoths). Harmon Kardons! But still, lurking in the nether regions of their basement is the crappy cheapass plastic stereo that was my first. Oh, and the Donald Duck turntable, with the tone arm shaped like Donald's (white gloved three-fingered Disney hand and all). That I don't mind because hey, maybe it's a collectors item, and it still works and can play '78s. There are boxes for appliances they don't even own anymore. Tax returns from before the flood. Can ya tell my father grew up during the Depression?


I was Googling around online, as I often do, and came across the ex-wife of a former fling of mine. A Mormon boy, and a mighty cute one at that. He's probably gay by now, but it was fun getting a crack at him after he'd recently "lapsed." Anyway, she had a really strange, almost Italian-sounding name, which I always thought odd. An Italian Mormon? But then I recalled two sites I'd run across - The Utah Baby Namer and The Mormon Name Generator. And suddenly it all made sense. Her name was...Candese. Followed by an equally euphonious Italianate last name. [His name was Chris. Followed by an equally non-descript all-American last name.] For kicks, I threw my various names (first, middle, last & married) into "The Generator" to see what came out.

Brandiese Valista Valliere.

My, that's...different.

Exams are in full swing. I left work 45 minutes late last night. Just as one exam was starting at 6, another was ending, another due to end at 6:15, and three more starting at 6:30. And we were a bit short-staffed. And there were newbies working. But what could I do? I had to get to rehearsal - I have a committment there, too.

Today we had two exams, both small. But one exam had the answer key photocopied in as the last page of the test! Gooooood job, there! And the person responsible tried to pass the buck six ways to Sunday. It was the guy in the copy room's fault, because he didn't check to make sure she hadn't stupidly left the answer key in there. Then it was my Partner in Crime's fault, because she told her to put the exams in the big blue envelopes that way. The professor herself told this woman to make sure the answer key was separated, and had put a plastic flyleaf in the envelope that would have been ideal for just that purpose. But since this woman doesn't have the sense G-d gave a gnat, it's everyone's fault but her own. Ya screwed up. Own it, wouldya?

*sigh* Nothing like exam stress.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com