but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

they call it easter monday but tuesday�s just as bad
Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006

Now Playing - Letterman.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - headachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Wooh. I think I�m having a minor migraine episode. Thought it was just an ocular migraine (a/k/a �aura without the big payoff�/�Gee, it�s hard to type when you can�t see the middle of the screen!�), but the headache did indeed make its presence known. It seems pretty mild, as my headaches go. Here�s hoping it�ll be gone by morning, as I have a Singing Dentist appointment followed by a voice lesson. I don�t think Joy would appreciate my head exploding all over the studio. Though I do have a really cute haircut, so maybe she�ll forgive.

Yesterday, Huz came by after picking up our tax returns from Dad, so I made him take me to lunch. We had a lovely meal (une salad Ni�oise pour L�Homme, une cr�pe ch�vre et champignon pour moi), mailed the tax stuff and deposited my paycheck. It was a nice break in the only full day of this work week. I wangled a lunch out of him; can sending me flowers and sweeping me off for a romantic weekend be far behind? Yes, yes it can.

Last night, we stumbled upon acquaintances of ours on a reality show. The wife went to high school with The Huz (her younger brother�s a good friend of his) and I�ve done a couple of shows with her. And the husband�s ex once held my position at The Little Law School That Almost Could. So we knew it was coming, we just didn�t know when. Through sheer channel surfing providence, Huz stumbled upon it about halfway through. And my was it entertaining. As much of a trainwreck as we anticipated.

Next up was Honey, We�re Killing The Kids! but by then Huz had had enough reality. So he switched to the Hitler History Channel, and we tuned in just in time for Honey, We�re Killing The Jews! Okay, not really. But close.

Three days off last week, 2� this week. Ah, bliss. Having time to cook, to launder, to work out, to sleep in if I so choose�. Even saw a little theatre last weekend. For free, which is unheard of at this particular theatre, the highest priced on the Island, and practically the only one that does not comp its actors or offer some sort of �po� actor discount.� But I was �with the band,� and they were given comps to drum up business. It was a good production overall � the men (only one of which I knew) were very good, but I was displeased with the sound of the women. If you could call it �sound.� You could more aptly call it �screaming.� Three of them were in their early twenties, and seemed well versed in the �Rent/American Idol� school of gut-and-cord-busting caterwaul. If I didn�t know the lyrics to one tune, I would have thought they were �SHAKE THE HAAA OF A BRAAA-NEEEW-FAAAH!� The last word of which should have sounded more like �FOOO!� but of course the singer couldn�t scream on that vowel. It was just so shrill and piercing and exhausting, really. When you�re watching someone working that hard, and doing it that incorrectly, it�s tiring. And depressing really, to be screamed at, not sung to.

But as I�ve said to him, in ten years when all those Screaming Mimis can�t even speak, much less sing, We Who Have Technique will be the Last. Ones. Standing. Or Singing, as the case will be.

Survival of the fittest, baby.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com