but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

one fine day in the middle of the night
Friday, Apr. 11, 2003

Now Playing - nothing! It's 3:30 in the morning, people!
Now Eating - drinking water, because I need to get up 5 or 6 more times to pee tonight.
Now Feeling - like I should roll back into bed.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


It's way too late at night to be doing this, but I've already slept quite a bit, so here goes...

the Friday Five...

1. What was the first band you saw in concert? Probably Duran Duran in '83 or '84 at the Nassau Coliseum. Shut up. I like Duran Duran.
2. Who is your favorite artist/band now? I'd have to say Dar. She just keeps getting better and better.
3. What's your favorite song? Standard-wise, Gershwin's "Love Is Here To Stay." It's just a beautiful tune all around. Contemporary-wise, Dar's "When I Was A Boy," because of what it says about being a woman in this world. And being a man.
4. If you could play any instrument, what would it be? As I've said in those email survey find-out-stuff-about-your-friends-you-should-already-know that make the rounds, kickass Patty Larkin rhythm guitar, The woman gets sounds out of her guitar that amaze me. I'd also love to be able to play piano, to accompany myself, but I just don't think that's in the cards. Other than singing, my musical "talent" is limited. You know how they say your right brain controls the left side of your body, and vice versa? And how one side is the artistic, ethereal side and the other the logical, mathematical side? I'm of the opinion that people who play piano must have some "Vulcan mind meld" thing going on in order to coordinate both sides of their brain/body to create music. Just my little theory, your mileage may vary.
5. If you could meet any musical icon (past or present), who would it be and why? Probably George Gershwin. I just think he produced an incredible catalog of work for someone who died at only 39. So much unrealized potential. I'd be sure and tell him to see a doctor about those headaches.


I need to have someone do a chart on me to see what my stars are up to. People have been wandering back into my life this year with startling frequency. Sometimes at my instigation, and thankfully not unwanted. A guy I used to work with in college; someone I've known since first grade; someone I was never as close with as I wanted to be in high school, a class "oddball" who was always just "too cool for school." Considering that one of my New Year's resolutions was to "not neglect my friends," this seems like a good way to go about that. If knowing where you're from helps you to figure out where you're going.

Uch. I have three Garcia Girls today. And I need to sleep. *sigh* Another lame entry. I feel guilty, but I'm going to chalk this up to disrupted sleep, and promise to be more coherent as the day goes on.

Later...


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com