but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

everybody's got something to hide, 'cept...
Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004

Now Playing - Rita Houston interviewing Glenn Tillbrook on 'FUV. His speaking voice is nothing like his singing voice.
Now Eating - drinking, agua.
Now Feeling - headachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Yeah, twenty days without an entry. Granted, two weeks were totaly consumed with finals, but still. Last week was consumed with holi-days off, and just generally decompressing from the stress of the previous two. All in all, finals went swimmingly. No lost, stolen or strayed exams, our staff proctors all showed up and didn't bitch and moan (much), professors picked up their exams in a timely fashion...we were pleased.

Graduation was Sunday, and summer classes are only in the evenings, so it's a quiet time. This place is much nicer without all the people!

So what've I been up to? Auditioned for something I didn't get (and pulled off a lovely high B natural at an early morning callback), ordered my ticket for Falcon Ridge, saw some Obligation Theatre, performed Belle in Sag Harbor, managed to drag my sorry ass to the gym, did some Spring cleaning and had a disappointing experience with a chiropractor.

I was referred by a friend to someone who was unfortunately one of those quasi-faith-based ones; you know, "Me & G-d, healing the world one spine at a time." Now, I�m open to alternative medicine (otherwise why the hell would I have gone there in the first place?), but I believe it should be used in conjunction with Western medicine, not exclusive thereof. Her sell on us (because for my third visit I had to bring Huz along, so we could sit in a room with four other people for nearly an hour and be lectured at) was harder than a Manson girl pitching time-shares. And her reluctance to talk money and length of service with us until she got a verbal commitment from me toward my willingness to be healed (no-one must�ve mentioned to her the Goldwynism about oral contracts not being worth the paper they�re written on) made us walk out of there.

All I want is someone to crack my back and get me back in alignment, is that so difficult?

Anyone with any recommendations, please let me know.

We spent a rainy, chilly, indoor Memorial Day at Bill & H.B.�s. H.B. gave me my �Austin gift� � a souvenir of her latest musical voyage. Except it wasn�t really a souvenir, being handmade by her. Her sister Bonny (scroll down, she's third) has gotten her into making them, since they originated in their hometown of Rockford (pronounce �Raackferd�), IL. It�s...

a sock monkey. Personalized, right down to my �supercilious eyebrow,� as H.B. put it.

Thing is, since I guess she didn�t have appropriately auburn yarn to use for my hair, she combined brown and orange. Making �me� look, in my humble and admittedly twisted opinion, more than a little like...

Ani DiFranco.

You be the judge.

Ani Me, in sock monkey form

I have friends with too much time on their hands.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com