but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

single, with husband
Saturday, Aug. 10, 2002

Now Playing - in my head "Long Ride Home" - Patty Griffin
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I've come to a conclusion. Either I'm a single person who just happens to be married, or I'm experiencing my second (third?) childhood.

We went to dinner at friends a few weeks ago. Now, granted, they have brand-new twin girls, but everyone except me was bemoaning the fact that they can't stay up till all hours like they used to. I just sat there. Me who the month before came home from the city at 6 a.m. Me who stayed out at the gay bar 'til 4.

And then there's the me who goes to restaurants alone. And social events. And weekends away. My mother can't quite understand this. She couldn't understand, when Huz & I were "courting", how we could go several days without calling each other. Mainly because she and my father have one of those symbiotic marriages. Not that that's a bad thing. But that's the way they are, and this is the way we are. The way I am. Love created this funny thing in me. Trust. Trust in the ease of a relationship, where my husband can say, "Go off and have fun" and I can just as easily say, "Okay, you don't have to come with me." [And recognition of the fact that, while I am seemingly more at ease in crowds than he is, he's the one better at getting people to talk about themselves, at knowing the right questions to ask. Which, when we do socialize together, makes us a pretty good team, IMHO.]

Slight diversion from my point. I was not the social butterfly in high school; nor was I to any great degree in college. Mostly because of the crowds I was in. But ten or so years ago, when I was doing theatre "full-time," there was a period when I was a bit of a "dirty stay-out." But then I got a Real Job, and that fell by the wayside. Well, guess what? I'm not dead yet. I want to have a bit of fun while I'm still young (and young looking) enough to get away with it. So point me to the dance floor, and it's a Corona with lime on the side if you're buying. Because, you see, I'm dancing and I can't be bothered now.

But it's comforting to know there's someone at home to snuggle up to when I crawl into bed in the wee small hours. 'Night.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com