but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

lucky
Sunday, Sept. 23, 2007

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - a Hostess cupcake.
Now Feeling - grateful.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I arrived at the theater very early for today's matinee, earlier than usual. Last night's opening was at turns exhilarating and terrifying; second only to Belle in terms of opening night jitters. But somehow I got through it (well, when you screw up your first line in the show, there's really nowhere to go but up, right?) And the ovation at the end was tremendous.

So I took a moment to stand on the stage in the semi-darkness, staring out into that lovely playing space of ours, the space that would soon be filled with stunning orchestrations and glorious, intricate harmonies. Knowing that soon I would be a part of making that music, and that when I wasn't I would be standing backstage, eyes closed, humming and swaying in time to this score that I've known and loved for over ten years.

And I just felt so damn lucky.

For all the Drama-with-a-capital-D, the hard, hard work, the inevitable Technical Difficulties and personality conflicts to be experienced, and, in the end, the evanescent quality of what we do, to be able to do it is a gift. A gift I should never take for granted. Because so many people in my life see it as something rare and special. And I'm not just talking about the "How do you remember all those lines?" folk. It's those who say flat-out, "I could never do that." The fact that I can, and I do, and really must, because I cannot imagine a life without it? Being able to make art, however fleeting?

I am so lucky.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com