but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

insult and injury
Monday, Sept. 17, 2007

Now Playing - "One Cool Remove" - Shawn Colvin.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - sick-to-my-stomachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


5 a.m. I'm awakened by Huz climbing back into bed, and spreading blankets on top of our quilt. I smell something not unlike the smell from the new oven the first time we used it.

"Did you put the heat on?"
"Yep, just up a degree."

5:01 a.m. ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE.
The fire alarms in every room and the CO detector in the hall are all SCREAMING at us "FIRE! FIRE! FOR THE LOVE OF G-D, PEOPLE, GET OUT WHILE YOU CAN!!!", while Huz and I stumble about madly, trying anything and everything to MAKE THE HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE NOISE GO AWAY. Damn things are all hard-wired, so there were no batteries to remove, and no amount of blowing or waving at the damn things would dissuade them from performing their expected duty.

Eventually the HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE NOISE stopped, and eventually the man to whom I have pledged my troth and I went back to sleep, adrenaline-fueled as it was.

The same dear man who, not five hours before, had given me a black eye.

No, no, no...it was an accident. In a bit of before-bed horseplay, right elbow met left eye most percussively, leaving me with the makings of a shiner.

In other news...


My life is complete. Sharing a marquee with GALLAGHER, people. It just don't get any better than that.

What a way to begin tech week: a black eye, a fire alarm and sharing the bill with a guy who smashes fruit with a sledgehammer.

Wait. I've just broken out in hives.

And the hits just keep on comin'.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com