but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

and do they know it's like i'm losing my mind?
Friday, Jan. 10, 2003

Now Playing - smooooth jazz. Bleah.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Today's Friday Five...

1. Where are you right now? My office, at work.

2. What time is it? Approximately 10:20 a.m.

3. What are you wearing? A dark grey Banana Republic men's sweater, black Gap stretch pants, black socks, black shoes (sensing a theme here?), Gap undies, Victoria's Secret bra, wedding rings.

4. Any people or animals around you? Describe them. My Partner-in Crime, E. (she's my immediate supervisor), The Boss in his adjacent office, and a couple of random students in the outer office awaiting their appointments.

5. What are your plans for the weekend? We're having two good friends who've recently become a couple over for dinner tomorrow, and The Huz will be watching the Jets on Sunday. Plus some laundry, G-d willing.


Got a new, big, firm-yet-poofy pillow. When he saw it, The Huz said, "I'm surprised you lasted as long as you did, if you didn't like it." And, after a look from me, "I wasn't being sarcastic." He truly wasn't, I was just reading "justify this most recent purchase" into it. I like the new pillow...so far.

He took his mom back to the neurologist yesterday. All her tests have been done, and the diagnosis is what we thought it would be. Without calling it "Alzheimer's" outright, he basically confirmed that it was. Because you can't really get a diagnosis without a biopsy of the brain, and because they didn't do an autopsy on her mother when she died (ostensibly of Alzheimer's). But so as not to alarm my MIL, he phrased it as I suppose they all do - that there is dementia and it's not stroke-related, or vitamin deficiency-related, and "you can call it many things...'Alzheimer's,' etcetera, etcetera."

But she's now on a low dose of something called Excelon, and she'll be re-evaluated in a couple of months, so at least something pro-active is being done.

But it was a long, tiring and frustrating day. He gets upset when he feels he's been "short" with her. And believe me, his being short is nothing like my being short with people. He's a gentle soul, my husband, and much more tolerant of things and people than I am. But it troubles him that he has to speak to her that way. I do mean "has to," because sometimes she goes so far off track or fixates on a particular subject ("perseveration" is what a friend called it) that he has to nip it in the bud in order to accomplish anything. Like filling out doctor's applications or paying bills. She thinks she's helping him when he really just needs her to stay quiet so he can focus on the task at hand. That's where the "shortness" comes in, and for a Cancer who loves his mother, it's a difficult thing to see yourself doing.

I told him the other night what a good son he is, and what a good job he's doing by her. This is not something you expect to be dealing with all by yourself, at 39 years old. And he is all alone, because unfortunately I can only be involved very little in it. I can't be over there practically every day, taking her to doctors, and shopping, and errands. Which is why I'm trying to make his life at home as stress-free as it can be. I can at least do that.

He's a good son, and he's doing his best. I hope he believes that.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com