but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

won't someone keep me in the style to which i could easily become accustomed?
Friday, Oct. 24, 2003

Now Playing - "Design on a Dime" - HGTV.
Now Eating - digesting - pasta with vodka sauce (homemade, it's one of my specialties).
Now Feeling - a tad sicky-poo.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Ow. Kate, the Teutonic Wonder-Hygienist pillaged my gums like they were Poland this afternoon. I didn't help matters by having ribs last night, and flossing before I went to sleep so she wouldn't have to deal with bits of rib matter. Plus, it's PMS week, and tender are the gums. Why do I sabotage myself like this, why? And why am I now craving popcorn??? Just Say No, Mel.

I found twenty bucks on a staircase at work the other day. Cool - lunch money. And the payout I got from the pension plan at my old job? Well, apparently they miscalculated it, and I'm due about $300 more. And the car rental place that allowed me to tool around in a Jeep Liberty some months back credited six bucks to my Visa card. I don�t know why, and I am not about to question any of this good money karma. Found money. . . it�s a good thing.

Green Apple Chap Stick...also a good thing. Just so�s ya know.

I�m bored with my hair. I�m growing out these bits that were once part of my bangs. [I trim my bangs myself. Better I should shoulder the blame for screwing them up than go to jail for running down a stylist in a parking lot when I come out looking like Mamie Eisenhower.] I used to cut too far into the hair past the sides of my face, so I�d have bangs where they really shouldn�t be. I�ve reformed, but now I get to endure these wispy things as they flyaway and curl and take their damn time growing. My hair�s at a good length/width now, about six inches past my shoulders and considerably thicker than last year, when I thought my thyroid was all wonky. I�d like something long and layered, like in the sketch shown here. But I don�t know if that�d work, since my hair has a bit of a wave if I don�t blow it bone dry. And I haven�t been to a �stylist� in so long (I�m a Supercuts gal � how tough can it be to cut off one inch straight across?) I�m not even sure how to ask for what I want! But I really like that look. I just wonder if I could pull it off.

Speaking of things I�d like to change, my mom recently gifted me with a ring that had belonged to her mother. It was her engagement ring, and you can see from her wedding portrait that it was probably some gorgeous Art Deco setting. Mom remembers it as a square setting, with emeralds in the corners. ::drool:: However, in the late Fifties Grandma had it remade into this shrimpy, shell-like, cocktail-ish thing. Not my style. It�s not as awful as I had remembered it, but it�s just not me. Here�s a picture:

And here�s how I think I�d like it to look:

Muuuuch better, no? Except I�d have to see if they could put the three biggest stones horizontally across, instead of the four princess stones in the square. And I�d like to keep and use all the original stones, because there are 23 of them and 23 is one of my lucky numbers (I was born on the 23rd). And I have to actually find someone who can do this for me, at not-too-dear a price. Even though it wouldn�t be the customary style for a right hand ring (see Mel trudging along, slavishly following the latest trend), it�d be more like the heirloom it was. And that�s really what it�s about.

Huz�s anniversary cards have been well and duly purchased. I was trolling the Maul, and figured I might as well hit a Hallmark while I had time and inspiration to spare. Anyone else screen the cards they choose for someone so as not to appear hypocritical? I didn�t choose any of the "after all we�ve been through and all that we�ve accomplished" kind of cards, because our relationship is fairly new and we aren�t even close to the house/kids/college/retirement thing yet. We�ve been through plenty, but those cards don�t seem appropriate without the "milestones" associated with them. Likewise, I stay away from the "I am everything I am because of you" genre when choosing cards for my mom, because I�d like to think I�m who I am in spite of my mother. And I do mean that in a "celebrating our differences" kind of way. Usually.

Ugh. Since Dad and I had dinner a week ago, I�ve been feeling coughy and drippy. I chalked it up to allergies and change-of-season/Super-Man-finally-turned-on-the-heat, but I think I may have caught a variation of Dad�s cold. Because I�ve moved on to "scratchy." Which I am fighting tooth and nail, because I used up plenty of sick time in my spate of "I miss doing theatre full-time" mini-depression. That seems to have abated. If I�m not around it all the time, I miss it less. That said, I�ll probably go see some theatre tomorrow night, which might bring on a relapse.

In other health news, the thyroid�s fine. My endocrinologist said that since I was never diagnosed as hyper- or hypo-thyroid, the only reason I was on the pills was to suppress the growth of the nodules. My blood work showed that my levels were indeed normal, and as he looked through my chart, he saw that the nodules had not grown at all in fifteen years. So I said, "That means the only way I�ll lose some weight and feel less tired is if I actually get off my ass and exercise?" "Yep." Damn. There goes my second career as a Lady of Leisure.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com