but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

my huz, i think i'll keep him
Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2003

Now Playing - the Jessica Lynch interview.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - stuffy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


...and a few of the Reasons Why:

~ after scratching him with my engagement ring (hey, he picked it!) for the eight millionth time, I apologized and added, "Do you forgive me?" He replied, "Don't I always?"
~ a friend has mentioned the incredibly cute look he gets on his face whenever he says "my wife."
~ several years ago, we both performed in Zorba (along with some others). He mentioned just last night that it was difficult for him to hear (he couldn't see the stage from the pit) me get killed every night, because it was a character he liked and because it was his wife-to-be playing her.

Well, I think it's cute.

Considering the plethora of search hits I get for "pixie h@ir cut," I've decided next time I visit the 'rents, I'm going to grab the six year-old librarian photo. It's truly a sight to behold. I owe it to those who are searching, and indeed, school-age children everywhere to see that the horror that is the pixie h@ircut is not perpetuated. Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.

I'm so frickin' sick of being sick. Now I'm sneezing. And my throat is sore from all the coughing and throat clearing. I wish I could stay home, but I have no more sick days, and there's too much to do. We're doing class evaluations, and there's still much scheduling and organizing to be done. And then, in just a few short weeks, it'll be time for finals! Whee!

I wanted to get a haircut after work. I'd scouted out the salon during lunch, and was all psyched to come home with a chic new 'do. Alas, 'twas not to be. They got backlogged due to all the kids being home from school (even though this isn't really a "kid-friendly" salon, not like the SuperCuts two doors down), and there was up to an hour wait. The only seating there were these backless ottoman-like things, and no good magazines to speak of, so I gave up and headed home. The drive was annoying as all get-out, because folks were still driving like little old ladies even though the rain had ended hours before. So I was in a snit by the time I reached home, but Huz made me some tea with honey, and catered to me, and I felt better. Add that to the list of reasons.

So, the saga of the fabulous $95,242.50 check has drawn to a close. I spoke with the CFO of the ad agency yesterday, and he was eager to learn how the check had made its way into my possession. Seems they've had quite a problem over the past year with checks disappearing before reaching their intended destinations. Several had been forged and cashed in various foreign countries, to the tune of about $600,000. I told him I had no idea how it had gotten here: it wasn't stuck to anything, it couldn't have been bundled in with my catalogs since they're not first class mail, and the nearest thing to be sent to me from the city was from a bank in Brooklyn. Probably not much help to him, but what can you do? He did ask me to send him my picture and resume, which he will then forward to the Director of Broadcast Production. Nothing will come of it, but it was a nice gesture on his part.

Okay, I'm pooped. Here's hoping that Tylenol PM kicks in, and i can sleep through the night.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com