but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

did you ever see a histamine walking...
Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005

Now Playing - someone folksy on 'FUV.
Now Eating - Taco Hell!
Now Feeling - like I should get my ass to the gym tonight.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Clunk-thwack! Clunk-thwack!

That sound you hear coming down the hall would be me.

Dr. Scholl�s used to be a lot easier to wear when I was a kid. Smaller shoe, smaller foot, smaller me.

::repeat to self: I�m toning my calves, I�m toning my calves::


Hello to all those new visitors from message boards and knitting groups. I blame Paula. She linked this entry on the Yahoo knitting group she posts to, and I�ve gotten all sorts of odd (but not unwelcome) traffic since.


Dinner Tuesday night was lovely. We sat out on the deck. At one point, I leaned back, drink in hand, and said to Huz, �See, this is my idea of bliss.� Loaf of bread-jug of wine-thou kinda thingy, coupled with a water view. A perfect apple martini, Oysters Rockefeller, oven-roasted catfish with a crab-cornbread dressing, sweet pertater fries, strawberries in a chocolate cup with fresh whipped cream and a glass of blueberry port to top it off. And lovely, not-too-hot weather. Beautiful, at least until the sun set and the bugs were upon me like the proverbial white on rice.

I am bug nirvana. �Scuse me while I get my Sally Field on, but they like me�they really like me! Thing is, I thought I only actually got one bite, but swatting them away just made me totally paranoid. At the moment, I am one big itch. A walking histamine. And the �one-day delay� has set in. My body says, �Hah! You thought you only had one bite! This would be me lulling you into a false sense of security! What�s that bump on your arm? And that red mark between your toes?�

Pass the calamine, would you?


Mom is going in for back surgery July 19. Her doctor told her it�s really the only option, and even with that there�s no guarantee that she�ll get relief. Seems he won�t know until he�s opened her up how bad things really are. Dad and Kevin have been petrified, thinking �If we tell her to have the surgery and she dies, it will be all our fault!� Because that�s the way excessively neurotic Jews work.

::repeat to self: I�m not part of their gene pool, I�m not part of their gene pool::

We (we being me, Mom, Dad and Huz) have a consult with her doctor next week. I guess it�s to address any concerns we have, and for him to tell us what will be expected of us (and her, of course) once she�s home. My brother is coming in for the week, which may or may not enable me to still attend Falcon Ridge. I�ll see how it all plays out, because I�m more than a little leery of being on a farm in the middle of nowhere with no cell reception while my mom�s laid up in bed.


The photo du jour, from our campus:

pineflower

Have a happy holiday weekend!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com