but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

i got through all of last year and i'm here!
Tuesday, Jan. 23, 2007

Now Playing - the white noise machine.
Now Eating - drinking, Dr Pepper. But I had salad again for dinner, PHYLLIS.
Now Feeling - headachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Hello, internet! It's been a while!

When last we met, my stomach hurt, I needed a shower and I loved my new office.

I still love my new office. Even if I've yet to get the hang of the thermostat. The students are back, and none of their lockers work properly. I generalize only slightly. There are 72 stairs from the basement (where the student mailboxes are) to the third floor (where our office is). And I used to (inwardly) complain when I had to shlep to the mailboxes in our old building. Now I'm too winded to complain. And I'm not complaining.

Boss said to me today, "I really don't think I like New Dean. But you felt that from the beginning, huh?" He thinks she's passive-aggressive, and always finding ways to get out of doing things that fall under her job description. She tries to get out as close to 5 p.m. as she can; which does a disservice to our evening students, who have no-one they can go to for academic counseling. When they're here. In the EVENING. She left at 11:30 a.m. last Friday, because she was having people from her old job over to her house for cocktails that night.

So what else, what else? Rehearsals have begun for the next two gigs, and I have a third on the schedule I'm not yet at liberty to discuss.

We received information from our property management company about a short-term lease. They're soaking us for $1425 a month. That's only $25 less per month than the rent for the fency-schmency renovated apartments. Y'know, the ones with deadbolts that work and no cucarachas. So much for my raise. So much for saving money in anticipation of paying a mortgage. Huz was thinking it almost paid to renew for a year at the $1270 they offered us, just to spite them. Until I told him paying $1270 to not live in an apartment for 5 months on top of an as-yet-to-be determined mortgage was insane.

But on the bright side...okay, the "dimly glowing in the middle distance" side, the condo people called and told us they're ready to discuss upgrades to our unit. Which means we're that much closer to being homeowners. 'Course I went over there today to see if they had paperwork for us or whether we needed to make an appointment, forgetting that the office is closed Tuesdays. Poop. Delayed gratification is not my thang.

And now, for a short photo essay:

Un Hommage � L'Amour Gai, � la Star Trek


Joy has lots of Star Trek tchotchkes in her entertainment center. Some years ago, I arranged some of them in vaguely homo-suggestive tableaux. We like seeing how long it takes for her other students to notice, and guess who arranged them that way.

Usually they guess correctly.

trek dancing

Ren� Auberjonois as Greedo...Frodo...Odo...whoever. And some other guy with a lot of latex on his head. Dancing the night away on the Holodeck. Yes, Joy owns the 3-D chess set.

spock-kirk

"Set phasers to...my, you're looking stunning this evening, Spock!"

"Must. Not. Pick. Up. Communicator."

And yes, that's Kirk's hand on Spock's ass. And I am twelve.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com