but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

contract. release.
Monday, Feb. 05, 2007

Now Playing - "We've Got Tonight." Clearly I do not have the speakers on my computer turned up nearly enough.
Now Eating - Orbit CitrusMint gum.
Now Feeling - cold.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


There�s this one student; I�ll call him Shemp. Because it fits him well, and because it approximates a contraction of his name. Shemp is a sweet boy, but an INCREDIBLE noodge. He was in earlier, waiting to meet with my boss. Standing in front of my desk and making conversation, while I was trying to eat my lunch. You�d think that if the response to your query of �Good lunch?� is a food-muffled reply, the person in question might just want to focus on the business of eating.

You�d think that, wouldn�t you?

I stopped the Happy Pills last week. Hemi-demi-semi-inadvertently, because I was running out and hadn�t bothered to call the doctor. So I just said, �Why not?� because I�m all mad and impulsive and flat-out idiotic like that. I was on the lowest dose given, so I figured I�d give it a shot and if the side effects got too hairy, I�d call my doctor. So far the only side effect has been this weird dizziness that I can only compare to feeling like a goldfish whose bowl is being spun. On a pottery wheel.

There is one thing I have noticed: I�ve welled up twice in the past weekend. I can�t remember the last time I cried, but it was probably some time in October. The Happy Pills stopped all that. Not that I�m complaining, because they were certainly warranted, given the circumstances. But y�know, it�s kind of an important thing, crying. To me, anyway. Being �fine� all the time? It�s kind of overrated. I like to know that I have other emotions at my disposal, should I need them.

OPINIONS WANTED: At present, we�re discussing upgrades to our condo. [Can someone tell me WHY everything costs a FRILLION dollars? *ahem* Moving on�.] We found out yesterday that both finishes we were considering for our kitchen cabinets have been discontinued. So at this point, we could A. pay nothing, stick with the standard (square, oak, in a medium finish, as shown here sans hardware [!] and additional pantry and over-the-fridge units) cabinets and upgrade in the future, B. pay a lot ($6600), get the style we want in the lightest shade possible (with the additional cabinets) and refinish them in the future, or C. pay slightly less ($4600) get laminate (of which I am not particularly fond) and upgrade the cabinet doors (if you can even do that) at some point? And do we choose tile based on the color scheme we�d like, or the color scheme we�re lumbered with? With which we are lumbered? Whatever. Anyway, what would y'all do?

Speaking of contracting fun, the mom downstairs and her mariachi/video game/recorder playing kids moved out this month. Which means that in addition to the $1425 per month we�re paying for the �privilege� of living in a non-renovated apartment in a �luxury� complex for the next almost six months, we get to hear the contractors ripping out the guts of the flat downstairs. At 7 a.m. And smoking cigarettes while they do it. I�m so glad I get to awaken to the smell of smoke and the sound of drywall saws in my decidedly unluxurious but luxuriously-priced pad. But overhearing this morning about the rusty beams that need to be replaced as a result of a leak from our bath that the contractor estimated had been leaking for at least 10 years? That is priceless.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com