but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

on the island of fire
Wednesday, Jul. 31, 2002

Now Playing - something Elton John
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


As I wrote here, my idea of perfect happiness is �a fine meal with friends and a view of the ocean.� Well, I got that, and then some, this weekend. I went to Fire Island. Where I hadn�t been in eight years, to visit friends I hardly get to see often enough.

So what did I do?

I ate cheese and corn pudding. I walked on the beach. I drank good wine and very expensive club soda. I got tattooed. I freaked out Tara (and amused Sharon) by pretending I was her lesbian lover. I saw a deer. I smelled the ocean. I saw prepubescent male strippers. I hunted wabbits. I sang in a hot tub till four in the morning (Bradley: �You�re the authority figure�you�re her father! Tell her to get out!� Brent: �She didn�t listen.�)

And what did I learn?

From Brent, through the ages: the importance of lipstick, and to always look your best when going to the theater. And that it only matters how you look from the front, unless you�re a guy being chased down the beach by Jim and Mel.

That Jim is the perfect combination of hopelessly neurotic and endlessly endearing.

That I really need a vacation.

Most of all�

How lucky I am to have people in my life whose friendship lasts through time and distance.

And how lucky you are if you can sleep and wake to the sound of the ocean.

I can still hear it singing in my ears.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com