but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

life in the h.o.a. lane
Friday, Jan. 25, 2008

Now Playing - some show on alien abduction.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - bloated. Pretty!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


We had our first condo meeting last night.

In a word: Whoa.

Our community is divided into two sections; ages 55 and over, and...everyone else. You'd think that it would be the "crotchety old folks" who did the majority of the kvetching, but you would be wrong. It was the thirtysomethings (or as my very low-key husband put it, the "crazy, whiny bitches") who did the vast majority of the crazy, whiny bitching. Chief among them our next-door neighbor, a Jewish girl whose name starts with M and who's married to a drummer. Who shall forever after be known as Bizarro Mel.

I haven't learned much in this lifetime, but one thing I have learned is that "catching more flies with honey" is a truism. I don't lose my shit about something unless I feel it's absolutely warranted. Complaining about the snow removal people shoveling at a too late or too early hour? Warranted? Really? Better to fall on your ass on the black ice? And it was just the way she did it, too. The seniors raised their points rationally and maturely, and they were valid ones. But the aura of entitlement and yes, the crazy, whiny bitchiness of her and several other young'uns (all of whom appear to be buddies - go know) made me ashamed to be among them. And seeing as I'm on the tail end of their demographic, I guess this makes me officially...

crotchety.

In case any of you had any doubts.


I need to go out dancing more often. I was invited to tonight, but I was sleepy and Huz was pissed off (not at anything I did, incidentally), and I had envisioned spending the evening catching up on paperwork. But Huz's friends called with an offer to go see a fellow musician play, and I've summoned up the necessary energy, so off we go.

Hope it's the start to a fun weekend.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com