but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

if he's beside me, i know i need never care
Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2006

Now Playing - "If I Fell" - more Beatles.
Now Eating - nothing. Saving myself for the Surf and the Turf!
Now Feeling - happy-sad.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Amazing Jill, Sorceress of Tresses, flat-out refused to cut my hair last week. She took one look, ran her fingers through and said �It�s fine. You have no split ends, the layers are growing out well, come back in about three weeks. Oh, wait; let me cut your bangs!� Which she did a tad zealously, but hey, they grow. This is the first hairdresser I�ve allowed to cut my bangs on a consistent basis. She wants to come see my show (dunno why I never told her previously that I was a performer). She hugged me as we parted. I love my hairdresser! There, I said it, it�s out!


Huz surprised me with an amethyst bracelet this morning, in addition to the requisite Godiva. When I said he didn�t have to get me presents, he replied, �But I wanted to.� What girl could argue with that? Or programming the song he sang to me at our wedding (�Here, There and Everywhere�) to wake me up this morning? Or his spontaneous �I love you� after reading his Valentine cards? Anything that moves him to an unsolicited expression of emotion�s okay by me.

We�re going to Legal this evening, courtesy of holiday gift cards from my parents. I�ve limited myself to a lunch of one plain slice of pizza (and six million Hershey�s Kisses) in preparation for Seafood Gorge 2006. Free lobster! No rehearsal! Crabcakes! No rehearsal! Wine!

My favorite Valentine�s Day was our first, 1996. We�d done a matinee of Once Upon a Mattress (there it is again, H.!), I�d received the first of many gifts of amethyst jewelry (it�s my birthstone, after all) and we decided to go for a walk on the beach before dinner. In February. We headed to nearby Robert Moses State Park, and I don�t know if we stepped through some wormhole, but it was absolutely beautiful. The temperature was mild enough that we walked with our jackets undone, it was overcast and the air was�pearlescent. There�s no other way to describe it. The world was glowing and I was walking along the beach with someone I was more than a little crazy about. One perfect moment in my otherwise imperfect life.

I think I�ll remind him of that tonight.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com