but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

dys- dat- and d�other-morphia
Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - resisting the urge to stuff my face.
Now Feeling - hungry. And pity-ful.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


My boss left a rolodex card for one of our consultants in my inbox. Attached was a Post-It that said �ROLODEX.� A Post-It gave its life so that he could tell me to put something back in the Rolodex, something that by virtue of its very presence in my inbox I would naturally put back where it belonged, as I have done for the past 4.25 years.

This message brought to you by the Department of Redundancy Department.


One day the jeans are feeling spacious and the scale is reading an astonishing number, and the next the hormones kick in and why do I look so thick and matronly and could they have posted a more unflattering picture of me on the bulletin board?

Round, like a circle in a spiral, like a wheel within this particular mental Catherine wheel.

I am trying to keep chalking it up to the ol� hormones, and convince myself that I am not matronly, not unmarketable, not past my prime. But being informed that you�re considered too old for a role, a role that was created by someone almost ten years your senior, is disheartening. And it plants the seed that you shouldn�t bother auditioning for some of the other parts on the horizon, because who�s to say you�re not �too old� for those as well? And if you should get cast, will the audience think to themselves, �Oh, that poor thing � that part�s way out of her range. Who told her she could still get away with that?�

I am more talented than I was ten years ago, but less esthetically pleasing. You�d think one would win out over the other, but that�s not always the case. You�d think that in a choice between youth and experience, where �youth� is not an essential quality for the role, that experience would win out there as well.

You�d think too, that someone needs a proofreader when they post a cast breakdown that includes a mother whose age range is 25-35, and her son whose age range is listed as 20�s. Okay, I�ll buy into the historical conceit that folks married at puberty and spawned accordingly, but I think giving birth at age 5 is a bit of a stretch, don�t you????


Anyone else get the funny feeling that right now something really down and dirty is going on somewhere in our guv�mint, and Cheney had decided to take some of the heat off by spraying his friend about the head and neck with buckshot?

Okay, perhaps it�s just me. And him.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com