but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

and handel and I share a birthday
Sunday, Dec. 15, 2002

Now Playing - the Latino video game soundtrack of the children downstairs
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Downtown Messiah was incredible. The trudging around the West Village in the pouring rain was not. I won't get into rationales about how confusing the streets are, or how it would have been easier were it not raining. I'll simply say that I am too damn suburbanized. Gah. But we had incredible chili to keep us warm.

But the music was magic. Peter Kiesewalter's arrangements were...let's just say when you hear an arrangement of "But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming" that sounds at turns like Dave Matthew's "Don't Drink the Water" and Alanis Morrisette's "Uninvited" it kind of sets Handel on his end. And Margaret Dorn turned "The People That Walked in Darkness" into a gospel number that featured two guys called "Mulebone U.K." who played (I think) slack key guitar, bass flute (Mel: HB, what is that? HB: Bass flute. Mel: That's what I figured it had to be!), penny whistle and jaw harp! And there's nothing like groovin' to the Hallelujah Chorus.

Didn't get home til 5 a.m., because our train was stuck on the tracks for an hour due to mechanical difficulties. All I wanted was to get out of my soaking wet clothes and into my warm, dry bed. But at least we were able to doze a bit on the train, because G-d knows, we weren't going anywhere fast. Never was I so happy to get home.

I was supposed to carol last night, but Frank emailed me with the semi-glorious news: we got canned!!!! When there were only three of us last week, I heard the restaurant manager saying something to Kerry at the end about how it "didn't seem to be working out." I was under the impression that the 10 p.m. to midnight time slot was what didn't work, because of the lack of patrons to sing to 'round midnight. But I guess other things didn't work as well.

I was actually pretty glad, because that meant I got to see my friend Sheila play the lead in W;t, before it closes today. Thought I wouldn't have the chance.

She was wonderful, as is the play. I'd seen the last half-hour on cable, but it's different seeing it live. A friend, whose husband has had cancer, asked me after if I thought it was depressing. Not depressing so much as difficult to watch. The lead character is a difficult person, and her oncologists are portrayed as completely lacking in empathy and basic bedside manner. The tragedy comes from seeing her, after living an ascetic, academic life practically devoid of "human" contact, wanting and needing that during her final days. Difficult. And powerful.

I must hit the showers...caroling at 2. Coming soon to a Borders near you!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com