but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the "assuage the guilt for not updating" entry
Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2002

Now Playing - "Your Lips" - Olu Dara, which makes me chuckle
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So we're three days into Orientation, and you can already tell which students probably aren't going to cut it. I'm sure there may be some who may surprise us, but some...yeesh, you wonder how they made it through their undergrad. And do we really need that many more lawyers?

Our supers have this fun habit of arranging the sprinklers where they will do the most damage to us folks trying to navigate our way to our apartments. I mean, I've nearly lost a contact lens from being hit by the spray. To say nothing of the soaked clothing & shoes. Being that they're Albanian-Sicilian, there's no use trying to reason with them; the language barrier is too great. So a couple of weeks ago, we're leaving our apartment to go to dinner. Sprinklers are set to "stun." Huz manages to dash through - I'm next, and get hit in the small of my back. Startling, natch. So in rushing out of the line of fire, I hit the curb, skid off of it in my wet shoes, and feel the lower back go *sproing* in its attempt to keep me upright. Mrs. Super is within eyeshot...think she'd maybe take that as a hint? Or ask if I'm okay? See Mel hold her breath 'til she turns blue.

The back's still giving me trouble. Especially in the mornings. You think sleep would be the "Great Restorer." You think you're supposed to feel better after a good night's sleep. Think again. That, and I've managed to find another job with a work station that would make OSHA cringe. *sigh*

Note to Reader: Never ask a Jew how s/he feels. Unless you really want to know. Oh, you didn't ask? Whoops.

Get Elvis Costello's new album. When I Was Cruel. LOVE the bass work. And this from a girl who's not that into bass, despite having several bass-playin' friends. Sorry, but it just goes right through me. But there's some fascinating stuff going on there. Along with his arrangements and lyrics and drive and just general catchiness. It's one of the most solid albums I've heard in a long while. Kind of new/old Angry Young Elvis. Get it.

That said, I'd call this one a "listener" rather than a "learner." Some albums, you just want to learn 'em by heart because they speak to you. This is a listener in the American Bandstand "it's got a good beat and it's easy to dance to" vein. Get it. Trust me.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com