but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the post-friday friday five
Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2002

Now Playing - "Cruisin'" Smokey Robinson
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Okay, it's not Friday, but here's a nifty little thing I found here.

1. What is your current occupation? Is this what you chose to be doing at this point in your life? Why or why not? I work as a secretary in a Law School. This is my "day job." What I consider my real "work" is performing. It's what I was trained to do, and what I consider my passion. I choose to be a secretary at this point in time because it is a relatively simple job, and gives me the latitude to perform in my off hours. I also have rent, bills to pay, food to buy, etc. Sometimes I think I'd like to chuck it all and go back to auditioning every day, but honestly? I don't have that "edge" anymore. Or the energy required to run around Manhattan all day. So call me the Singing Secretary.

2. If time/talent/money were no object, what would your dream occupation be? I don't know...performing on Broadway, running a restaurant, hosting a design show on HGTV? The possibilities are endless.

3. What did/do your parents do for a living? Has this had any influence on your career choices? My father works as an accountant, and my mother is an executive secretary. No correlation between their occupations and my career choices. The only reason I'm a secretary is because 8 years ago a friend got me a job as a secretary/receptionist/customer service slave and that's what I've been doing ever since. Learned how to use a computer as I went, and still can't touch-type.

4. Have you ever had to choose between having a career and having a family? Not yet.

5. In your opinion, what is the easiest job in the world? What is the hardest? Why? Hmm...supervising others? Because so many of the bigwig supervisor-types I've worked around have just sat on their collective asses while their minions did all the real work. Not that that bothers me any. No. not at all. Hardest job? Mother, hands-down. No explanation necessary, IMHO.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com