but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

eat and grow rich
Monday, Mar. 10, 2003

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Lunch today was...Valentine candy hearts.

I would have gotten a real meal had I not sat around until 5:00 waiting for a phone call from my doctor. Damned captive audience that I was.

But my blood work was normal. Startlingly so. My thyroid levels are normal, there are no antibodies that would signify thyroiditis, and my cholesterol is a rip-roaring 175. The "good" cholesterol is almost half that - 80. Considering the crap that makes up my daily diet, this is a minor miracle.

Heartfelt thanks are going out to the people that made me...your genes did something right!

To celebrate this good news, I splurged on dinner: a McNugget Happy Meal and a Chicken Flatbread from Mickey D's!

I can see it now...a third career as a diet guru. The Hors d'Oeuvres, Cheese and Fast Food Diet! Your cholesterol stays under 200 while your ass goes to Hell in an ever-expanding handbasket!

[Seriously though, this and my consistently low blood pressure actually give me a modicum of faith that, when I finally do get off my ass and start exercising again, I should be able to get back into reasonable shape. Soon...soon....]

Speaking of going to Hell, in a few short weeks I'll be trekking to a baby shower somewhere in the wilds of Brooklyn with my cousin, my mother-in-law, and my cousin's two children, ages six and eleven. Donner, party of five, anyone? I wrote Cuz, saying I wasn't sure if she'd want me sitting in back with the kids or up front by her, but figured up front would be best, so the kids could distract MIL from her backseat driving. Cuz wrote back, "Your ass is in the front with me. MIL can sit with the kids. Unfortunately, no matter where she is it will be a long trip to Brooklyn. Heaven help us!!!!!" I replied that she was going to Hell for that comment, but at least then I'd have someone to talk to! 'Cause it's gonna be a looooong afterlife, and all.

So a couple of days ago, Golfwidow mentioned a couple of sites that were reviewing banners, one of which she vastly preferred over the other, which is now defunct. Whaddaya know, the first site went and reviewed the first banner I'd made. (N.B. this site is now closed.) Having no delusions of banner grandeur, I pretty much agree with the assessment. But grammar points off because you couldn't read the text, which is black on white and in a font described as "nice" and likeable? It's not a foofy, fancy font. Can't imagine what would have been said had I included the ~^ I use to signify my perpetually raised eyebrow. To each his own.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com