but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

what i deserve
Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Mmmm...pommes frites (yes, folks, frickin' French fries...now, go find something important to obsess about!) and dipping sauces for lunch. Jalapeno cheddar, anyone?

Of course, the inevitable post-frites carbo high and nap craving was...oh, who'm I kidding? It was entirely worth it.

The indigestion, less so. But my stomach's been weird this week, ever since the Saturday night bar food/talkfest with Leslie. At about 3 that morning (I was dozing on the rocker, procrastinating the removal of pancake/contacts/plaque) I began feeling really crappy. Hungover, 'bout to barf crappy. And I had but one glass of wine. Haven't been the same since. And dealing with premenstrual upheaval in my loins this week, so that makes it all the more jolly. And my right kidney's being a pain. Hydrate and void, Mel, hydrate and void.

N.B. to my loyal readers: Never ask a Jew how she feels. Just for future reference.

So I auditioned for Kiss Me, Kate tonight. And I have one thing to say. Now THAT was an audition!

I sang "So In Love", was asked to sing some of "I Hate Men" (and discovered the revival keys are different than the original score...how annoying is that?), and then P.E. took me aside to talk. He said that I was his top choice for Lilli, that he thought it would be a wonderful role for me, that he was very impressed with me in My Way ("You're so much more polished now...your gestures....") and planned on using me later in the season. We discussed my ton o'conflicts, and whether I'd be able to get to some rehearsals after shows in the area were over. And then they danced us, and read us, and it went extremely well. At the end of the night I said goodbye to everyone, and Brent gave me a big hug as I left. Sad to think I'm made to feel more at home in a theatre where I last worked nine years ago, and by someone with whom I've had a notoriously fractious relationship, than at the theatre where I've worked almost exclusively since then. Sometimes friendship and business can mix, and sometimes they just can't. Mighty sad.

And the best of all possible news was received by Jen yesterday, and I am so happy words fail me. She does not have MS, she is not dying, she has something called B1cker$taff's $yndrome, and it is treatable and she is going to get well. She is going to get well. And I cried when I read it, cried for this amazing woman I have never met, because she's been through such hell for so long. And now this happens, and "in these uncertain times," I feel a glimmer of hope that indeed, good things can happen to good people. So go give Miss Jen Trance some love.

(And Golfwidow added me to her buddy list. A big bouquet rightbackatcha, sweetie!)


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com