but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

anything can happen
Tuesday, Mar. 25, 2003

Now Playing - hum of a/c.
Now Eating - Lunch was a grilled eggplant/zucchini/red pepper/mango salad with melted brie. Yum.
Now Feeling - muzzy-headed and ready for a nap.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Okay, "Miles walked" has officially been changed to "Now Eating." Truth in advertising, folks.

The Boss took me and The Partner in Crime out to Cassis for my belated birthday lunch. 1� glasses of wine later and I am loo-pay!

Show's over. It was a good run. Fun, easy, enjoyable. And less than two hours with intermission.

Saturday afternoon there was a knock at the door, and I was surprised by Jim & Tim, my couple friends who are looking to move to our town. As Tim said later, after they came to see my show, "I was pleasantly surprised - the apartment was clean, you were clean...now if you had shown up at my place...!" I brought them to Super Woman's apartment to see if any places were in the offing, but there are no vacancies at the moment. Which isn't bad, 'cause they won't be ready to move 'til June or so.

We had a combined cast party Saturday night for our show, Children's Theatre and the One-Act Play Festival. My crab dip was wolfed down by many, a bottle of white wine was quickly polished off by few, and marshmallows were toasted in the fire pit on the deck suspended over Long Island Sound while we told "101" jokes. As in "101 fill-in-the-blanks walk into a bar...." I didn't even realize 'til later that it's an improv game. I love improv, though my mind doesn't work nearly quickly enough for it. Several of the partygoers are members of the theatre's newly-formed improv group.

I got way too little sleep, and woke up way too early to go to Patrick's workshop. Meandered around town after that, and bought some milk paint to eventually use to paint a small table of ours. And I bought another small table/stool to place in the nook between couch and rocker, to be used as an extra seat/place to put food for the numerous dinner parties we have. Well, we've had three in the year we've been here...not the worst ratio.

I have reading to do. Garcia Girls and Belle. Rehearsals, brush-ups and performances this weekend, along with my callback for Kiss Me, Kate.

We got the unsettling news that one of our professors has stage 4 breast cancer. It's metastasized to her spine. And she's such a mellow, together, healthy-looking woman. Does yoga. Recently married her longtime companion, probably in light of the encroaching medical issues. She thought she could carry on 'til the end of the semester, but it's not happening. Sweet lady, and I hope by some miracle her treatments "take."

Just goes to show you, anything can happen, and probably will.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com