but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the hissing of summer arteries
Friday, Sept. 16, 2005

Now Playing - Tracy Grammer's new album, Flower of Avalon, is gorgeous.
Now Eating - pumpkin spice donuts. And it's all R.'s fault!
Now Feeling - punkiny!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So Huz told me this morning that Dad had told him about the time he almost ran over a cop for me.

I was eight or nine, I think. A summer evening, after dinner. I was out on the front lawn, along with several of the neighbor kids, and the teenage girl across the street and I were playing tag. �Base� was the metal bar between the two screen door panels, but even though it was summer, my parents hadn�t put the screens in. Big panes of glass.

Can you see where this is heading? Good, because I obviously didn�t, lit. and fig. I smashed my arm into the glass below home base, glass everywhere, blood everywhere. I was bundled into the Oldsmobile with a white cotton cardigan (which in short order was white no longer) wrapped around my left arm and Dad burned rubber to the nearest hospital.

Which was in the midst of a nursing strike.

Picket lines and cops abounded. Dad tried to drive through, and was stopped by a cop. He bellowed out the window �My daughter is DYING HERE!� (in retrospect, a slight exaggeration, but effective at the moment) and gunned his engine as the cop still tried to block his way.

Long story short, he got through, I was a brave little soldier (which was SO unlike me as a kid � shock is a wonderful thing sometimes), I got an uglyass scar out of it and couldn�t go swimming for what felt like the entire rest of the summer.

I suppose he used it to give Huz an example of how far he would go to avoid being jerked around by The Man.

My Dad: The Jewish Panther.

And, of course, to show the lengths to which he would go to take care of his Beautiful Little Princess.

I don�t think I�ve mentioned that one before. Huz and I were over my folks, and I don�t even know what the context was, but in response to something my mother said I should suck it up and just do, already, he muttered sotto voce that I shouldn�t have to because I was a �Beautiful Little Princess.�

I didn�t even hear him say it, and cracked up when Huz told me after. And also thought, �Instant catchphrase!�

So any time I want to cop out of doing something I don�t want to, I tell Huz I don�t have to because I am a �Beautiful Little Princess.�

And then he makes me do it anyway.







But I�m still a Beautiful Little Princess.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com