but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the day so far
Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002

Now Playing - the hum of the a/c
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I have:

-observed some of my classmates from high school get in a tiff over unwanted emails from one of them (geeze, we were nasty and cliquey then, can't we give it a rest now that we're older?)

-faxed

-had fun with Photo Editor, and created a "before & after" image of a crying baby in a 3-piece suit and our Director of Admissions

-pondered whether to call my in-laws' eye doctor, because I'm really overdue for a check-up (having no doctor of my own to speak of) and am having weird floaters in my left eye

-done a little banking (the huz is back to school, so we're a bit more solvent right now)

-spilled coffee on myself (just a drop, but since I'm going to trial tonight I did want to stay as presentable as I could)

-considered my fact pattern for the trial this evening - I'm the custodial parent in a "Grandparent's Visitation Rights" mock trial that we're doing here. One good thing is that "Grandma" is on the stand first. So I get to sit & listen and process all the stuff she says and how it relates to the backstory I've made up. The other good thing is, last I heard from "Grandma" (a fellow cow-orker), she hadn't even met with her lawyer to go over her fact pattern. One bad thing is that my lawyer is involved in a real custody trial from which his judge may not release him to come represent me. Da noive!


We purchased possibly the heaviest piece of furniture ever made Monday. Well, the huz did. And then had to shlep it to the car by himself, courtesy of Target's Seriously Lacking Customer Service. I got to help him shlep it upstairs to our apartment. We abandoned all hope of carrying it once we hit the landing, and just opened the box & started taking it out piece by piece. He has a bruise about 5 inches long on his thigh from the damn thing. And it's a bitch to put together. Usually when you have a drawer that fits together with dowels and holes and little locking cam bolt thingies, peg A fits into hole B and you're done with it. We had to pound on this thing with a hammer to fit it together. And the hinges don't look like they're positioned the right way. This does not bode well for the rest of the project. I may have met my furniture Waterloo.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com