but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

win some
Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002

Now Playing - Law and Order, ironically enough since I just got home from "court"
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So my tower has been returned to me, fully functional thanks to the fabu IT guys (and gal) at work. Monday, when I should have been fasting in earnest and asking G-d to forgive my sins (I did fast, just not that earnestly), I started futzing around with my computer.

My computer being David's old Gateway, which is twice as big 'n' strong as my old one, a castoff from a member of the Y where I used to work. Which was twice as big 'n' strong as the first one my parents bought me.

(More about David at a later date.)

Mom had gotten me this Yahoo Smart Mouse Sans Trackball OptiLaserThingy. Couldn't use it on Computer #2 because it didn't have a USB port. David's does, but there I was, trying for the second time to install the stupid thing, and failing miserably. And in futzing, I manage to confuse the video driver so that it refused to recognize that the optimal resolution for my Fabulous Flat Screen Monitor (another parental gift, and MUCH appreciated) is 1024 X 768. It stuck itself at 640 X 480, and would not budge.

It was like being legally blind.

Now, technically I have been legally blind. So they tell me. But I think it was really a technicality - in that my eyes crossed so much I couldn't see. But I was but a wee one, so it's not like I was prevented from reading or driving a car.

But this? Everything was huge. And had only 16 colors. Some things weren't even visible. My Favorites, for example. Oh, not too inconvenient.

Compared of course, to actually being blind.

Perspective, Mel, perspective.

Which brings me back to the odd "prism" floaters, and that I should really get me to an opthalmologist. Because the Contact Lens Practitioner is getting on in years, and his office is starting to screw up things, and annoy me. And it would just be a good thing to be seen by a real doctor.

But now more about my petty computer problems...

Long story short, I could not fix it. And I hate that. But the magical IT folk at work could, and did, and even eliminated this annoying error message I would get in the midst of each and every boot up. And did it willingly, and for free. You can't argue with that.

It's scary how devoted I am to this machine.

So a healthy computer was the "win" of the day.

The "Grandparent's Visitation Trial," however....

But that's a story for tomorrow, when I'm a little less bitter. 'Cause I just hate to lose.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com